Clerkenwell - Sofar


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 30th 2016
Published: May 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

It is whilst sitting outside a 3Dprint studio in Clerkenwell at 7:34pm, waiting to go to Sofar, that the feeling of doubt creeps in.



Sofar is a regular event that a friend and I go to in Sheffield - an intimate acoustic gig that you apply for tickets, usually with four bands, always at a secret location - venue information released on the day, organised by someone we know - safe and friendly. It could be a sitting room, warehouse, coffee shop, garden, cafe or anywhere that will host a pop up music night. Sofar is not only national but international - starting in New York. Tonight, it is in Clerkenwell, and San Paolo. In Sheffield, Sofar is easy. In Clerkenwell where I know no one and I'm going alone - it's out of my comfort zone (that place you start living) - you know, like when you are in deep water and can just touch the floor with the tip of your big toe - almost ok, but not quite.



The girls at the door to the event can't find my name but just as I'm opening the confirmation email, they find me - at the end. I'm easily twice the age of any person here and feel it - feel small. I sit on a chair by the wall along the side - not unlike a flower out of place. Everyone else is on the floor or stairs or side units of this below-ground, trendy, 3D print shop. The girls are pretty with good hair - one, in a pale grey dress with tiny flowers and red and black striped knee socks and campers. It's bring your own beer - they're eating crisps or sticky sweets sitting cross legged on cushions or jumpers - there's a hum of conversation filling the room. Behind me, a couple talk and I'm not even sure of their language. The lights fade but the hum doesn't .

The young man who owns the print store introduces the night, offers free 3D print workshops and generously opens the studio space to everyone.

The first act begins - I miss the name. He sings acapella with two others bringing in the harmony. It's quite beautiful and the same thing happens as in Sheffield - I am lost in the sounds of the young, confident musicians of this country. I fall into this place which is not in Clerkenwell but a place where music moves, where people move, where you fall in love with that open beauty of the young being quite amazing. A place where anything seems possible.



After the first act, there is a break to set up for the second. The guy who introduced the event says for everyone to say hello to someone you don't know. This is a difficult thing for the British. I sit quite frozen. The woman behind me touches me lightly on the shoulder and says, 'Hello' just like that and we start talking - the couple are Portuguese. He's working in IT. She works as a receptionist in a hotel - they've been here four months. I say my name and why I came and it's very relaxed. It's time for me to make a path to leave and get home before it's dark. On leaving - the pretty girl with the grey dress says Hello. She's from Norwich and works in Camberwell, her mum is Thai - her hair is braided and the dress has angel sleeves - she's really pretty. Everyone here is accepting and accepted - the open friendly vibe is just the same as Sheffield. The world seems and open place - here at this moment and I'm glad that I stepped out of my comfort zone and sat with a hundred young people that I didn't and still don't know but am proud of. This is our country. A mixing pot of creative young people from all over the world.



As I leave, the Portuguese girl is by the door. She shout's, 'bye bye Tracey - have a safe journey'



If you do nothing, nothing happens, if you do anything - anything can happen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



31st May 2016

Clerkenwell
Another fine posting, Tracey. Your exceptional people observation skills make me quite envious. Wonderful, and always a pleasure to read. David

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb