almost time to wake up


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

today is the last day of the europe part of my trip, as of today I am on my way home. the weather here is very hot and has been fine for the past tw o days. i have had a wonderful time in London and have seen almost everything.

on my first day here (by the way I know that some capitals aren't appearing - sticky buttons) I went on the london eye, nice view but I think the view fron St Pauls is better. after that went to westminster abbey and walked around there, saw the black squares that mum always picks up on when it appears on tv, they aren't mistakes they are actually tombstones. then walked across the road and went to Parliament and went on a guided tour of that, very interesting to see all the different areas and even walk past tony blair's seat, of course they were on holiday still. had to race to get to St Pauls cathedral and up the 530 stairs to the top, but as I said earlier the view was quite incredible. so that was the day, at night i went to her majesty's theatre to watch the Phantom of the opera. what an amazing show. you can see why the dream is almost over, that was a dream day for me. Very tired by the end of it but amazing.

the next day went to the globe theatre, stopping at the Tower Bridge along the way. went for a tour around the theatre and heard about the brief history of the actual building and the older history of the original building, I remember when it was being built, as I was at high school and mr brady kept going on about it. stayed around for the afternoon show - figured that was more of an authentic experience. bought a £5 ticket for the standing area. So watched the show actually leaning on the stage. Saw Antony and Cleopatra. So that was 3 hours of standing and leaning against the stage. incredible performance especailly by the one playing cleopatra. Not a lot else done but glad I got to see that.

Today have been to harrods, green park, Buckingham Palace, hyde Park and oxford St. So have pretty much seen all there is to see in London. Not bad really.

but feels kind of strange today. am excited about coming home, but at the same time a little sad that my holiday is coming to an end. it has been so busy the whole time and the trip has gone so quickly. But as they say all good things must come to an end. so hense the title of this entry, it has been a dream. for so long I was thinking and talking about doing this trip and now it is almost over. and this may well be my last journal entry, not sure what I will be doing in Hong kong. So keep checking, I will let you all know when I am back.

i hope that you have all enjoyed reading about my travels and you will have to forgive me if you have read what I have done and then I start telling you all about it all over again.

Bye for now, might write again from Hong Kong - i've got a plane to catch.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb