Mission completed


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Dortmund
September 18th 2006
Published: September 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Have just spent the weekend in Amsterdam and am heading back to London later today. No longer have to use Euro, back to pounds and back to where they speak english - or at least a version of it.

Had a huge day on Saturday. Got up at 5 to make it to the train. Couldn't really sleep on the train as I ahd many stops along the way where I was actually switching trains. Thankfully all the trains were on time and I managed to make it onto the correct on each time.

Stopped for three hours in Amersfoort which is where my Great Great Uncle is buried. Walked for about half an hour, out of town even, to make it to the cemetery. The old one which the web site had said. So walked around for ages trying to find this grave. Was getting very frustrated and there weren't many people around to direct me. Started getting upset that I had made it that far and wouldn't be able to find where it was. But then the logical side of my brain kicked in and I realised that the graves at this cemetery were all marked with letters, I needed numbers. So found one local and asked if there were any other graveyards around the area. Yeah - about three!!! So walked even furhter to the largest one. Was beginning to feel like the contestants on the amazing race, trying to find something within a short period of time. Was thinking needle in haystack thoughts. But when I was at the graveyard I found the local war graves and figured the foriegn ones couldn't be too far away. Yay for the logical brain.

FOund it quite quickly. Took lotos of photos. Is in a nice setting, along a curving path with a flagpole near by. Found it interesting that one the head stone is the NZ fern and ontop of K. Blincoes grave is the only fern along the area and it is the largest on his grave. With small parts of it growing on the two on either side, who happened to die in the same plane crash in 1943.

Felt good to actually make it and it was a beautiful day so the pictures will hopefully come out well for Grandad Jack.

So after that raced back to the train station to catch the train that I had times for, makes it easier that trying to figure out new ones. And made it to Amsterdam. This is 2pm now, said it was a huge day.

Went to the hostel, probably the worse one I have stayed in, but knew I was only there for a night so it didn't matter.

Went to the Heineken factory, well the old one that you can look around. Called the Heineken Experinece. You get to go on a machine that makes you feel like a beer bottle through the production line, you can also go on a cart where it is like drive through the streets of Amsterdam being pulled by horses to deliver the beer. You get 3 free beers and a free gift, which was a bottle opener all for €10, not bad at all.

At the final drink stop on the tour I started talking to two travelling aussie guys, we carried on talking and drinking at various other establishments around the city until 1:30 that night. We were talking cricket, rugby, football, travelling amongst other things. Turned out to be a lot of fun, just from having the guts to talk to strangers rather than stand and drink alone.

21 hours - HUGE DAY!

Sunday went to the VAn Gogh museum which was excellent and went to Madam Tussaud's. That was ok but not really as enjoyable by yourself. Then back to Dortmund where I am leaving today. That was the last European weekend of the trip, quite a memorable one.

Is interesting talking to people, they are all amazed that I have done the whole trip by myself without anyone I know around, but I don't really think anything of it unitl they start talking about it. It was something that I wanted to do so now I have done it.

ANyway have to go. London and HOng Kong to go then home. Also lose have a day through time zones, have to catch back up to you guys.

Bye for now, hope all is well.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb