Finding My Way


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 6th 2013
Published: August 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sweet Morning to you. Setting goals for a day venturing out in new territory is as valuable as one remembering where one has parked ones car. They each take some time to map out in your brain the location of where you begin and where you end.

My goal for this day was to locate a place that sells hair dryers and SIM cards. My morning began with a quick shower and then off to blow dry my hair. I brought along with me the electrical voltage converter plugs. Plug in the converter...check...plug the hair dryer plug into the converter...check...turn on the dryer then oh my...smoke is billowing out of the dryer. Yes...I blew up my favorite U.S dryer. Another great lesson learned. Converters will only work those items that pull lower voltages I am assuming. No sense in letting a little lack of beauty stand in the way of my fun day. I decided to go natural with the hairstyle. Only those close to me and my hairstylist know the outcome of this one...LOL.

The great part about London is that you will see a wide variety of hair styles. In SW Kensington it appears there are a lot of people dressed fashionably without the stiletto's, flats seem to be much more common in this area. In general people seem to be very health conscious. I noted more bicyclists and individuals dressed in workout attire than I have ever seen in one place. Amazed at the cyclists cruising with the traffic buzzing at a speed unknown.

As I ventured out I found a Verifon store. This is the primary carrier in London for wireless services. The gentleman who took care of me was very kind. He changed out my SIM card within my I-Pad. What I have discovered in this process is that your device via cell phone, IPad etc., must be unlocked. So if traveling to a foreign country check with your carrier prior to leaving to see if your device is able to be unlocked. There is no fee for unlocking, however some companies will not unlock your phone until you have finished your contract with them. Once unlocked the card slides out easily and the card in the country you are visiting can easily be slid into the slot where you have removed your U.S. carrier card. It is important that you not loose your card so that upon your return to the U.S. you can easily replace the countries SIM card where you have visited with your U.S. SIM card. The SIM card here allows me to upload MGB as I run out of them. I purchased the card for 5 pounds.

The sales clerk at Verifon directed me to a fantastic store. At this store you go the a huge catalogue of items. Search for the category of the item you are seeking, write down the code number, pay at the register and within 3-5 minutes your purchase appears. I found a great price on a blow dryer, straight iron and curling iron sold in a kit for 22.95 pounds. I plan to go back there as it is such a fun way to shop. No clothing or shoes available here. Plan to find the area hosting a variety of stylish shoes as my feet are seeking the comfort of cushy shoes.

After shopping I located a wonderful place for lunch. Always up for a new adventure. I located an Organic Restaurant. I then challenged myself to try the Green drink with a lot of puréed green vegetables. My daughter-n-law must be impressed and would love this one. I ordered a pizza served with vegetables and olives served on a flatbread of sunflower seeds, nuts and other grains. I must admit the drink was a bit challenging, however the pizza and side salad were yummy.

Now back to the flat I go. I found my way, yippy.?

I challenged myself to find my hubbies office so that I could meet him when he got off work. Note to self, be more cautious of taking on such a feat unless you truly feel secure in your capabilities of following written instructions. Mind you, very few of the streets here are identified with signage. I found the first stop located on the instructions, from that point on I wandered aimlessly down many side streets with no luck of finding him. My drive to succeed kept me going for at least an hour, after that point I succumb to the fact I would meet him at the first stop on the instructions. This is the challenge of having no way to communicate other than cell phones that I have grown accustomed too.

At our temporary flat (apartment) of which is the size of a larger motorhome has presented us with a high squealing noise that enrages our hears randomly that is lasting any where from 5-30 minutes at a time. We have reported this to management and are hoping to move once another flat comes available. Nights and days spent in the apartment can be a bit of a challenge...it is an unexpected alarm clock similar to that in the isolation room on Big Brother...LOL. ?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb