Weekends Journey


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
August 10th 2013
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This weekend it was time to journey out with my hubby. He chose the path for these adventures. I find that it takes at least and hour or more of preplanning...searching maps and discovering route options in order to arrive close to ones intended destination.

The goal for Saturday, 10 August was to land our feet in the Westminster Region. Our journey began on foot, when then connected on a bus from Warwick Gardens, bus C9, which traveled towards Trafalgar Square. Along the way I noted Kensington Park, this park includes The Diana Princess of Wales Memorial Playground, The Round Pond and the Serpentine. West Carriage Road cuts through the park South to North. The other amazing Parks noted were the Green Park and St. James Parks. Green Park contains Buckingham Palace and Gardens.

Upon the arrival in Trafalgar Square I am immediately intrigued with the huge Lion Statues located close to the Nelson's Column. Climbing up to take a photo was a bit more of a challenge for a lady of my age. My husband was sure to get the best shots of my behind as I was determined to get up there...LOL. We giggled as I struggled to get up and down off the ledge. I had flashbacks from my younger days of climbing tall ladders to the top in order to wash the tops of diesel trucks and trailers. Quickly recalling, 'what goes up must come down'.

As squeezed through the crowded streets, I believe we were on Whitehall. I was thrilled as we stumbled upon the Horse Gardens Museum. it was exciting to pet a horse on guard and take a photo. Needless to say my hubby does not share the same love and enthusiasm for horses as I do. I also think this was connected to the Horse Guards palace where we also took photos.

Then meandering on we discovered Big Ben the Central Methodist Hall. It was delightful. When did not take any tours inside any of the wonderful architecture of the buildings as this will be coming up at a later time. Noting the viewing of Westminster Cathedral and the House of Parliament, these buildings are stunning to look at.

We continued across the Thames River on the Waterloo Bridge. We checked out the Southbank Centre which contains the Royal Festival Hall. From there we journeyed to the area of the Archbishops Park where we could see the London Eye and the House of Parliament in the background across the Thames River. In the park there were individuals entertaining us with break dancing. God sent me a sign from Roc that he was there with me as they did a performance to Gangnum. Thanks for that Lord as this was the last time I saw my sweet grandson dance for me via Skype connection 2 days prior to his passing. It was fun to watch.

We toured through Jubilee Park, there were vendors, the London Eye and other rides in the park. Amongst all the hustle and bustle a bride and groom had exchanged vows.

Our hunger began to overtake us so we stopped at Azzuro for a late...late lunch. The food was excellent. It was entertaining to people watch as there was a reflecting mirror as they moved along. The styles and cultures vary widely. I am amazed how rare it is to see women wearing high heels here. I personally think this is a wise decision. This is much different than Korea, as there professional dress from head to toe is imperative most of the time.

After lunch we began our journey home on the tube. This will again take some time to adjust to the routes here. Another great day!

11 Aug 2013, The venture for today is to visit the Camden Market area. We plan to travel by tube from High Kensington Station to Camden Station. We had to change lines in order to reach our destination. Stations tunnels are much darker and trains here are much narrower than those in Korea. Thus that being said leads to more compacted crowds. Definitely do not want to be claustrophobic. It is funny as I noticed many locals walk on the left and all of tourists seem to walk on the right. However on the escalators they do request all those going up if standing remain to far right side so that those walking can easily pass. So glad I learned this one in Korea. I find at the airports stateside, people do not show the same courtesy and it can be somewhat difficult for those in a hurry to catch a flight as they are stopped by those standing in the way.

We found our way to the Camden Market. The crowds reminded me of the Namdamun Market in Seoul. This market you will find some really good prices. I found a jacket that I purchased in my favorite store in FL that was over $100 less. Food for thought...! Also noted that there are a lot of stores selling pipes of all kinds, goth style of dress, tattoos and piercings etc. Some of the dress attire actually looked like it would be fun, of course this is only for a unique occasion. We did also see a lot of creative artists marketing there goods as well. Definitely will be returning there for shopping another day. I enjoyed the Horse Tunnel Market, inside it appears to be a stable that is located underground. Unique for sure.

For a late lunch we stopped at a restaurant overlooking the locks. We watched as they opened and shut the lock to allow for a boat to exit and enter another waterway. The individuals cranking the lock arms by hand had the appearance of tourists as they were dressed like everyday folks. Thinking this might be family owned.

I will leave you with a few British Words to ponder

Bumbag=Fannypack, Cot=Crib, Dummy=Pacifier, Trolley=Shopping Cart, Sidewalk=Pavement

Hope you enjoy this one! Cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb