TWO DAYS IN LONDON, ENGLAND


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 4th 2013
Published: June 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

DAYS THREE AND FOUR IN LONDON, ENGLAND

Monday - I had a small breakfast at the hotel, then headed out to get the bus to my first stop of the day, the Tower of London, a historic former fortress, royal palace and prison, containing the Crown Jewels and the White Tower and featuring tours by the Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters). The day was beautiful, sunny and mild. I got to the Tower before it opened and waited in a line that got very long before admission, but the place is large enough to accommodate many. The fortress was started in the eleventh century and is situated right on the Thames. I then went on a cruise on the Thames from the Tower to the Westminster Pier. I walked across the Thames (on the bridge, of course) to the London Eye, the world’s tallest cantilevered observation wheel has 32 high -tech glass capsules that make a complete rotation in about 30 minutes. Spectacular views on a clear day like I had.

I began my walk back to the hotel across the river, but I was thirsty and hungry, so, when I spotted the Shakespeare Pub, I paused and refreshed. Then, back to the hotel for a short rest and get ready for dinner with Jack and Susan at an Italian Restaurant (Sale e Pepe) near their hotel. When I visited them Saturday, the cab fare came to about 30 pounds round trip and took 30 minutes each way. I bought a day pass on the tube (good also on buses and trains) for 8 pounds; the trip took only 10 minutes each way. I had planned to arrive a little early and visit Harrods’s a well known (and expensive) department store. Since I got there faster than I had thought, I had time to go through the entire store. Maseratis, Bentleys and Rolls Royces can be seen parked curbside. The store had many customers, some just observing like I was, but many buying. My favorite departments were the food deli, wine shop and electronics featuring high quality products. I also noticed a 50,000 pound watch for sale. When I met Jack and Susan, we had a few drinks at their hotel and walked to the restaurant, a very nice establishment where they were greeted warmly by the owner. All were pleased with our meals and a quick after dinner drink ended a wonderful dinner and a very pleasant evening. They walked me to the underground station and, since they were flying back to Oakland Tuesday morning, we said our goodbyes until the next time. The tube ride home was 10 minutes and I was in my hotel for the night.

TUESDAY - I started the day again with a light breakfast and then walked to the Charing Cross train station. The concierge at the hotel recommended that rather than taking the tube to The Shard because I wouldn’t have to change lines and the train ride itself is only seven minutes. I had a voucher for a ticket and an appointment time of 10:30, but I was about 40 minutes early, so I tried and everything went smoothly, I was amazed at how few people there were at this popular (but expensive) destination. The Where Magazine states about the View From The Shard, “The latest addition to London’s skyline offers unrivaled views 800 feet above the city’s streets”. Truth in advertising, the views are spectacular especially on a day like today was. The elevators bring you up rapidly to the 68th floor where free telescopes are available. I walked up
BEEFEATERSBEEFEATERSBEEFEATERS

TOWER OF LONDON TOUR GUIDES
another 4 floors to get on the open air floor; truly amazing! At 30 pounds, though, it is quite expensive.

I went to the Churchill War Rooms via the tube; I had to change lines, but everything is so efficient, it presented no difficulty. It is the fortified basement where Winston Churchill and the military worked during World War II protected from the blitz. I used the audio guide provided as part of the admission. A very interesting and well done museum. I had lunch in the museum. Leaving that I walked through St. James Park and Green Park for another short tube ride to see if I could get any discounted theater ticket for tonight, my last night this trip.

I was able to get a good ticket to Top Hat, based upon the movie with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers in Hollywood’s golden age. It was a great show; 18 superb dancers, singers and a live orchestra. It was very well acted too. London has great theater. On the way to the show I stopped at Nicholson's pub for another fish and chips. The theater was only two blocks from my hotel.

My stay is
TOWER BRIDGETOWER BRIDGETOWER BRIDGE

FROM TOWER OF LONDON
over for this time, but I'll be back. London is a great city, so many things to do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

TOWER OF LONDONTOWER OF LONDON
TOWER OF LONDON

SITE OF MANY BEHEADINGS
LONDONLONDON
LONDON

FROM THE EYE
VIEW FROM THE EYEVIEW FROM THE EYE
VIEW FROM THE EYE

TOWER BRIDGE AND TOWER OF LONDON
TOWER OF LONDONTOWER OF LONDON
TOWER OF LONDON

FROM THE EYE
CHURCHILL WAR ROOMCHURCHILL WAR ROOM
CHURCHILL WAR ROOM

ENTRANCE TO THE MUSEUM
CHURCHILL DINING ROOMCHURCHILL DINING ROOM
CHURCHILL DINING ROOM

IN THE WAR ROOM MUSEUM
LET IT BELET IT BE
LET IT BE

BEATLES BEST HITS
TOP HATTOP HAT
TOP HAT

BASED ON THE FRED ASTAIRE AND GINGER ROGERS MOVIE OF THE SAME NAME


4th June 2013

Wonderful Info
OK, I'm ready to pack my bags and hit London. Thanks for the info. See you soon.
4th August 2013

live theatre in London is the best
It' been a long time ,but we loved the theatre in London and also remember the thrill of getting half price tickets. Well, this week, we will be in Niagara on the Lake getting our fill of Shaw plays. I remember the trip that the Meads and the Dinkins made together to that lovely place. A happy memory for us.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb