VISIT TO ST. PAUL MINNESOTA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Saint Paul
August 6th 2013
Published: August 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA
On Saturday, I arrived at the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport as scheduled after a smooth flight from Sarasota. My cousin Phil picked me up and took me to his very nice home in West St. Paul where I met his beautiful wife Joanna and his son Steve. They have kindly made their home my home for my four day stay. My cousin and I went to a nice Italian restaurant for a pizza lunch. It was unseasonably cool and drizzling, but we didn’t melt. In appreciation of their hospitality, I took them to dinner at the St. Paul Grill in the St. Paul Hotel. My friends from the London trans Atlantic cruise recommended it highly and their advice was perfect. It was my hosts first time at the Grill for dinner and they enjoyed it.

Sunday I walked to the St. Joseph’s Church for mass. Beautiful church and friendly people. I walked back for a wonderful breakfast on their back deck. Later, Steve, Phil and I walked the dog. The weather was much improved and we went to Joanna’s son Abe’s for a cook out dinner. Abe is a good cook and very friendly and welcoming. Nice day,
COOKOUT AT ABE'SCOOKOUT AT ABE'SCOOKOUT AT ABE'S

ABE, STEVE, PHIL & JOANNA
good time and great people!

Monday we went to the Como Park Conservatory, a wonderland of gardens and plants. In the evening I accompanied my cousin to his final softball game of the season and followed with a cookout. A very fun group of his friends.

Tuesday, my final day of the visit, after lunch at a really nice deli, we visited an art store and then we went to tour the Summit Brewery. A small regional beer company with very good products. Then my cousin and I prepared for going to the Twins/Rangers game at Target Field. We took the light rail train to within steps of the new stadium. It was crowded, but the crowd was good natured. We had time to stop in a fan favorite bar for a brew before the game. Unfortunately for the home team, the Twins lost.

St. Paul is a very clean and impressive city. Most homes had nice floral displays (a lot of hostas), and the people were friendly. I went primarily to see my family, but St. Paul/Minneapolis is a worthy tourist destination as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

COMO PARK CONSERVATORYCOMO PARK CONSERVATORY
COMO PARK CONSERVATORY

JAPANESE GARDEN; ST. PAUL IS SISTER CITY OF NAGASAKI, JAPAN
PHIL & CHUCKPHIL & CHUCK
PHIL & CHUCK

SAMPLING THE BREW


6th August 2013

Hello
Nice to see your blog again. Hope all is going well. You like like you are still enjoying life! Keep these coming!
7th August 2013

Beautiful gardens
Your pictures of Como Gardens are beautiful. I can only imagine the serenity walking through it. What a nice way to experience St. Paul for the first time. Thanks.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb