Its the hottest summer yet....who'd ave thought!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I know you're gonna hate this, but I dont have any pictures for you, and nothing really interesting to say, but I'm killing time in an internet cafe as it seems to be the only place in all of england that has thought about installing air conditioning!!

So anyway, apparently today was the hottest July day since 1911, with a top of 36.3 celcius. The poms consider this to be completely 'unbearable'. Supposedly, they do like the sun, but just not this much of it. Its been in the thirties all week, and looks to continue that way for a while yet, which we're loving, but they're slowely wilting. Although, when it came time to brave the tube, we wilted along with them, as according to the papers it hit 47 on the tubes and 52 on the buses.......excellent!!
Note to london government: you might wanna think about how you're gonna get cool air onto the highly over-used public transport system before millions more people arrive for the 2012 olympics.....hmmm, how about something you stick on the roof, connect electricity to it and it somehow blows out cold air....umm, I think other countries call it air-conditioning????

Anyway, thought I'd give you a quick update on what we've been doing before heading off to Paris on Sunday night.
Micks been gardening at the 'Crown Prince of Brunei's' house all week.....I kid you not, this is a true story!! The prince is doing a bit of a reno, just installed a £80,000 kitchen, and thought he might like the garden done too. So Micks having a good ole sticky beak around the joint, thinking he's pretty darn special!
I havent had the luxury of working with royalty, although I have continued on my path to 'world peace....for all canine' at my doggie charity company (which I might add, receives more donations than any other charity in england......I admire the brits attitude.....stuff the poor sick kiddies....lets ensure all dogs live in a lap of luxury....for life) My contract was supposed to be up this friday, however they've asked me to return after my week in france, and do another 3 week stint til we depart for our tour of scotland and Ireland, so that works out nicely.

So, thats about it, an average week for us expats.

ps. Its micks bday this friday, so feel free to send him a message, you dont actually have to be nice to him, just hearing from you will be enough :-)




Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb