Work and no play?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is difficult enough to receive negative feedback regarding your performance at work, but even harder when the feedback is about you personally.

Too loud, intimidating, too confident.... too much really.

I find myself questioning my career path, and that really scares me. 6 years in HR and being told I would be better suited to a career where my apparent faults would be seen as a attribute. Is it my career choice, or perhaps just this specific work place?

Working within such a specific function of HR has limited my skills, cut short the people interaction that I have always strived on. What is a good field for me?
I try to think back to other business I have worked with and I see a common theme where I tend to fail, business which rely on stats, cut off’s and ratings my success is limited. Other roles where I deal with daily duties in a adhoc manner and self management I excel, or perhaps if there were tangible ratings I would have seem that I was failing these roles as well.

No longer happy in my role, I still cling to the company. Why, I do not know. Why don’t I move on? I have been approached my other companies yet I stay here where I feel I am a liability and not an asset.

Is this just another ‘down’ period? Am I overreacting, or perhaps I simply feel unsecure as the company is currently undergoing cuts and I foresee myself as potential collateral damage.

I no longer look forward to going to work. I’m concerned that I will carry on this negativity outside of my 35 hours.

What’s the problem here! Just move on.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb