Turning the Tables


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 15th 2006
Published: May 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy DaysHappy DaysHappy Days

Here's a happy photo of myself, Graham and Chris hanging out in Leicester Square when Chris dropped into London for a couple of days last month!
It's been a little while since I've written anything, mainly because my life has become pretty boring of late with nothing much new or fun to report. I've just been doing the same as last time I wrote - working during the week and trying to relax on the weekend. I've also been incredibly homesick - most family members have had a teary phone call or two... except for Matt who's had more than his fare share of my sobbing!

The homesickness has been a little worse lately since my flatmates Kath and Graham have headed over to Amsterdam for 10 days leaving me home alone. And it wasn't helped at all by today's events which have totally freaked me out.

My friend (Monty's) sister Tessa arrived from Australia today and she is staying with us in London for a few days. So before heading over to Heathrow to pick up Tessa, I decided to do a quick shop at my local supermarket. I don't have a car, so I grabbed my trusty nanna trolley and headed down the road. On the way home from the shops, dragging the lovely tartan nanna trolley (And yes Sharon, it's almost as beautiful as my Riverstone one), I was stopped by a young man who asked me for the time. He was pretty jumpy and jittery - when I told him the time he noticed my accent and asked me where I was from, I told him Australia then continued on my way. He then asked me for £2. You get asked all the time for money here, so I just kept on walking. But he followed closely behind, telling me that if I'd only give him some money then he'd leave me alone. I picked up the pace but he was close on my heels, swearing at me and then yelling at me that if I didn't give him my f***ing wallet that he was going to punch me in the face and take it all. Being a normal Sunday morning, there were a couple of people on the street so I yelled right back at him to get away from me and leave me alone hoping I might draw someone's attention - but no one intervened so I kept powering towards home hoping I'd make it, but the guy was close on my heels continuing to threaten me. I was so scared, but I kept yelling at him as I was coming up to being able to see home. There were some people in the yard next door so the guy didn't follow me into my garden, instead he yelled at me "This is where you live hey? You're lucky." and then continued on down the street. my hands were trembling so much that it was hard to open the door, but I managed it and then promptly burst into a flood of tears. I got home... with my wallet.

The lovely couple who live downstairs heard me crying and rushed to my aid. I was so embarrassed to be such a mess, but they brought me into their apartment, gave me a cup of tea and helped me calm down. They even drove me to the train station so that I could head over to Heathrow to collect Tessa without having to walk to the station on my own.

So the tables have been turned, after years of working with victims of crime, I finally join the club! And I know I sound like a total wimp, but as a result of this I'm really ready to come home! On the other hand I've booked in for a cruise of the Greek Islands in August with the beautiful Anneliese, and I don't want to sacrifice that because of some petty crim. So it will take me a while to feel safe again in my own environment (especially as the twerp knows where I live) but I'm going to tough it out. It's days like today that really make me appreciate home. I'm missing you all!!

Advertisement



15th May 2006

That's really horrible honey, I hope with a new house guest, it takes some of the freakiness out of it. And good on you for taking a stand!! Your'e a courageous chick, and even though you're homesick, I know you can stick it out until August, and I know you will go home with lots of fond memories as well as the not so fond ones.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb