April in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 30th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from our kitchenView from our kitchenView from our kitchen

It was such a beautiful sunny day today! I had to share it with you!
Well not too much has been happening since my last entry, I definitely haven’t been doing as much sight seeing and have been busy trying to get my head around my new job.

I started working at Islington Children’s Services about three weeks ago and it’s been going well. It’s really full on but also great experience. Definitely one the best things about working in Islington is the fantastic social workers there, we’ve had a few fun nights of drinks after work. The week just gone was my first week “on duty” which involves the team I work with having to respond to all the new referrals that come in that week. I’ve been out interviewing children with the police and attending houses where child protection concerns are raised. It’s been an eye opening and different side of London that I’m sure most tourists never get to see. I’m sure that after these few months I’ll be really looking forward to coming back to my job in Sydney! Mum told me that she thought once I started work that would be when I got really homesick, and of course she was right!

My first day of work was my
Saying GoodbyeSaying GoodbyeSaying Goodbye

Saying Goodbye to Beata and Sean at London Bridge Station. It's the only train station I know where there are bars in the actual station!
first real experience of seeing the underground in full on peak hour. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many people squished between doors before. After watching 5 trains go past with all the people packed inside, squished against the windows and jammed between the doors, I decided that I would catch the train going in the opposite direction for a couple of stops and then change back to going the other way once the crowds had thinned out a little. Sure, I was late for work, but at least I got there unscathed!

So since then I’ve been catching the bus to work in the morning. There is a perfect bus which goes from London Bridge to Islington. It might take 15 minutes more than catching the underground, but at least I get to work a little more relaxed. It’s a great way to start the morning, I sit up the top of the double decker bus and get to see some of the London sights.

In the last few weeks I’ve also been able to catch up with some old friends. Beata, Sean and I had dinner with Michael Spitiri (another witness assistance officer from Sydney).
UndergroundUndergroundUnderground

Beata, Kath and myself waiting for the tube.
We had a great night catching up and sharing horror stories of living and working in London. As well as seeing Michael, Chris Stead dropped into London for a couple of days this week. It was unreal to be seeing some familiar faces, but it hasn’t helped me to get over my home sickness at all!!

This week also saw me saying good bye to Beata. Beata decided that she did not want to stay and work in the UK, so her partner Sean joined her. They travelled around a bit together and have now headed off to Poland before returning to Sydney. I’m terribly jealous of Beata getting to be home in just a couple of weeks, but I also know that this is a great opportunity for me and as much as I want to be home, there are still many things I want to see and do here!

Advertisement



1st May 2006

Homesick
Sorry about the homesickness. I just might have to come visit for some retail therapy and to cheer you up!
1st May 2006

Hi Babe
I Love You Look after yourself and behave.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb