The End


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NB For some reason Bexleyheath isn't in the list of locations for me to select. God knows why, everyone knows it's the real capital of England. In terms of teenage pregnancy and drunken violence anyway.

My journey home was sadly uneventful. I watched Control on the plane and got a bit upset that Ian Curtis died 28 years ago but think this was more due to my frame of mind about returning home after 5 months away.

I hadn't told my parents I was coming back, so I lugged my bags across London and finally arrived home at 1pm. Luckily someone was in as I didn't have my keys, so I rang the doorbell, dumped my bag in front of it and stepped to the side so all my dad could see as he opened the door was my silhouette. I could hear him muttering something about 'bloody salesman' as he opened the door to be confronted by me. His reaction was a picture, like the way Gerard Houllier always looked like a confused old man when he was watching Liverpool.

After finally recognising me, he let me in, and I waited for my mum to get back from wherever she'd gone. When she arrived, to say there were tears would be an understatement. If I'd known me coming home would upset her so much I wouldn't have bothered.

Anyway, that's about it. I should probably write something insightful now about my travels, and what I've learned about myself and the world around me. But the truth is, I've learned nothing I didn't already suspect. I now know for certain that I am happy in my own company as long as I have a book and some indie rock n roll. I know that Americans are all mental. And I know that as much as I've enjoyed myself, and as unpatriotic I am, I will always call England my home. At least until I decide to go blaze up a dooby with Nic in LA.



Advertisement



4th February 2008

Well
Its been an emotional journey. I've laughed more than I've cried, and I've had to relieve the tension of several posts with what can only be described as self applied friction to the groin. Glad you went, glad you're back. I hear you need a haircut (and probably a wash). X

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb