Another day exploring the streets of London.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 7th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Meeting Rebecca
Checking out Camden Markets
Walking everywhere.

Yet another not too motivated morning. But I did know I had to be up and ready to leave the house by 10AM because it’d take about an hour to get to Camden to meet Rebecca for a day out in London. Wasn’t too sure where the best place to meet would be but I wanted to check out the wackiness of the Camden Markets for myself. Interesting that magic mushrooms are for sale openly and I saw the neon shop for myself as well. There were quite a few stalls set up selling clothes and souvenirs and stuff like that. It was quite an interesting experience.

After a bit of browsing we stopped into a coffee shop for a drink and snack. Next up on our discovery day in London was Covent Garden. There were lots of shops, restaurants, cafes and buskers galore in this neighbourhood. Once again the sliver guy (this time dressed up like a cherub) was out trying to collect money for basically doing nothing in my opinion. There were a couple of other acts but we didn’t stop to watch.

We stopped into a few outdoors/camping type stores (for those back in Canada think MEC but on a smaller scale) since Rebecca needed a few things for an upcoming training session in Wales. I managed to walk away with only buying one top. I think I was attracted to it for several reasons 1) price was reasonable 2) looked nice 3) wash and wear material! And most importantly 4) it fit me. Haha

I made plans to meet Sarah to see a play or musical in the evening and Rebecca was keen on going too but it ended up that there was only one performance of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang at 2:30 (about 1 1/4 hours away) and there weren’t many other choices for cheap ticktets. Bummer. So Rebecca and I continued our shopping for a bit more before deciding to stop in for a café for a drink and a small bite to eat. Our next plan of attack was to walk over to the museum of London which is near St. Paul’s Cathedral so we got to see that too.

By the time we finished our tour of the museum and walked back to Leicester square it was just after 5PM. Let’s have an early dinner because I was just famished! A few places we wanted to go to weren’t open yet so we wandered around a bit before finding a nice Italian place. Had some garlic bread and really nice pasta with a tomato based sauce and yummy seafood - mussels, prawns and calamari. We even had room for dessert - a banana split!

I just realized I never took a picture with Rebecca. Doh!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb