Wandering about


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have a week off before Dr. Thomas arrives for conducting classes. A few people are doing some traveling already but I decided to wander around London on my own before heading up to Scotland with some friends on Thursday. Yesterday I went to Covent Garden and did a little shopping.. thankfully making it home before the rain. (-: Today I walked down to Covent Garden again (I really like it there...) and picked up tickets for a play tomorrow night starring Orlando Bloom. It's called In Celebration...I'm not going to lie, we are going to see it because he's in it.
I continued on down St. Martin's Lane and went to the National Portrait Gallery. They have a really fascinating Tudor portrait exhibit. The portraits of Anne Boleyn and Elizabeth I were particularly neat to see. I discovered that I really enjoy being in a museum by myself! I did my thing, took my time and left when I was ready....it was great.
So after that I just sort of wandered down a few streets, ended up back in Leicester Square and realized that I'd probably walked 5 miles and needed to head back to the flat. I like walking most places because it gives me better bearings on where I am in the city. I always end up with "aha" moments like, "oh...I'm at Buckingham Palace now..." It's kind of fun to just wander around aimlessly...
I've been to Regent's Park twice now because I'm in love with it and I can walk there pretty easily. We went there Saturday and Sunday and just layed in the grass under the trees. All sorts of people were there picnicing and just enjoying the sun and outdoors.
I haven't really spent too much time in the Hyde Park/Kensington area, so maybe I'll wander down there tomorrow. Sherry had mentioned maybe seeing the changing of the guards, so perhaps we'll do that. I'd like to try to go to Westminster Abbey and just walk around in there instead of going to a service. We'll see, the day is only so long and then it's off to Scotland!!!!
Here's our tour:
http://www.haggisadventures.com/HTML2/RTG-GB-223.aspx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th July 2007

I like all the pub shots...;)

Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb