Highbury Highlights


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 25th 2005
Published: August 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Early Evening at HighburyEarly Evening at HighburyEarly Evening at Highbury

The sunshine sneaks between the stands just before kick-off.
After a very wet morning at Canary Wharf the day ended on a dry note at Highbury read Chris' tour of Highbury when I went to watch Arsenal take on Fulham with my Aussie mate Dom Tilden and his fellow Fulham supporters Damien and David (lots of 'D's huh?).

I left Borough on my way to Highbury, however my first task was to buy a water-proof jacket, which for some reason was one of the items culled from my luggage before leaving Australia.(“hmm, its never going to rain in London” could not possibly have been a thought of mine before leaving Sydney, but your mind plays silly tricks on you when you decided to pack lightly).

Anyway I was back on The Tube and up to Oxford Circus in search of some wet-weather gear and amazingly had to visit several shops before I found anything decent.

With rain jacket secured, I jumped back on the tube and headed up to The Arsenal which is on the Piccadilly Line and proudly stepped out onto the street, excitedly put on my new jacket ('no rain will get through now!!!' I thought to myself) only to step out of the station and into brilliant sunshine!

Not
A Penalty Saved!A Penalty Saved!A Penalty Saved!

The Fulham goalkeeper dives the right way to save a very ordinary penalty taken by Lauren
to worry I’m sure its going to rain again at some stage over the next month or so.

I met Dom, Dave and Damien at a pub near the ground where we had the opportunity to down a couple of pints and a bite to eat before entering the famous old Stadium.

It was an unusual night simply because I was disguised as a Fulham fan and was sitting in the middle of the visiting supporters. Needless to say I had to appear very animated when Fulham took the lead, be very critical when they conceded goals and was down right abusive when they eventually lost the game (trust me, this is how an English football fan shows his or her support for their team).

In the end Arsenal won 4-1 thanks to goals my Henry (2) and Cygan (2). Aussie Ahmad Elrich never made it on the park for Fulham but it was a fun evening and if given the chance would love to go again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb