Tower! Tower!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

us and the ravensus and the ravensus and the ravens

There's a myth that if the ravens ever leave the tower, the kingdom will fall.
We slept in late today-or at least Caroline and I did-and then spent the remainder of the day at the Tower of London. This is where they would take royal prisoners, the people who upset the kings and queens. There are different exhibits but instead of just wandering around like Caroline and I wanted to do, my parents decided to take a guided tour which was kind of a mistake since my mom was the only one who could understand him and his thick accent. So my sister and I sort of went off on our own and took pictures. My dad and I liked the torture exhibit, and the crown jewels exhibit was a hit also.
After we spend until about 5:30 there, we hurried home to get ready for a fancy dinner at Rules, the nicest restaurant in London. We spent thirty minutes trying to find an available cab to drive us home, and then ended up taking the subway instead.
Tomorrow, my mom is spending the day in Baths, the town where Jane Austen’s house is. I’m not sure what my dad, sister, and I are going to find to do but I’m sure it will be something....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

us standing with a beefeaterus standing with a beefeater
us standing with a beefeater

these are the guys that guide the tours. can't understand a word they say, but the uniforms are cool!


22nd June 2007

:)
The tower seems amazing! Except for the hard to understand tour guides, hah.. I love how Caroline is standing in that picture with the lady that no one seems to know why she's there, that makes me laugh! Anyways, I'm glad that y'all got to sleep in today, otherwise all of this touring would probably catch up to y'all. It's so cool that you got to go to the nicest restaurant in London! I bet that was really fun! (except for the waiting for the taxi part..) That's so cool that Ms. Ragland got to go to Baths, I once saw a travel channel program on that and it sounded like it was really peaceful and pretty. Well, I hope that everyone is having the times of their lives in london!! I wish you all good health, safety, and many, many adventures for the rest of your stay! Love you all!!
22nd June 2007

Wow...What fun!
It sounds like you guys are having a wonderful time! It is good that y'all got to sleep in...at least to re-boot(can't spell) your systems :) The Tower of London looks and sounds so cool! I love the uniforms of the beefeaters, they are really snazzy! And that girl that caroline is standing with has a pretty sweet dress/ outfit on!!! Well, I can't wait to hear more about your magnificent adventures! Love you all, < Angel
23rd June 2007

Heads Up
All sounds like GREAT fun! "Heads Up" Caroline! Don't get lost in the shuffle! (We want you to tell us about all this in person!) I remember getting sick in London and the doctor came right to our hotel room (socialized medicine!). Hope you all don't have any contact with the English medical system! Have fun!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb