Arrrr......


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hiya!
Last night I went to see Pirates of the Carribean at Leicester Sq. I decided to head in early to go to a photography museum which was supposed to show photography from the early days as well as modern works. So I allowed an extra 2 hours so I could spend a decent amount of time there before I had to meet Nick Berry. So I arrived at Leicester Sq and got a little lost trying to find the museum... and then I found it - the reason I couldn't find it was because I was looking for a proper museum. The photography museum consisted of 2 rooms and a corridor.... it took me all of 5 mins to look at all the work and I saw NO historical work - just student work... total waste of time! So what was I going to do for the next 1 hr & 55 mins? I wasn't going to repeat the homeless act that I had to endure last time so.... I WENT SHOPPING!!! (well window shopping anyway). I walked to Oxford Circus and traipsed the shops spending a decent hour in the flagship Topshop store which is the most excellent shop known to mankind! It's 5 huge levels so it's like Sportsgirl - the size of Myer! But it's SO much better than Sporsgirl! It has an excellent vintage section and an are dedicated to student designers so they can sell their designs to the general public. One student was selling gorgeous dresses and tops made from vintage Kimono fabric for £55.

So enough about shopping... On trying to get to the spot where I was meeting Nick I tried to negotiate a HUGE crowd of people so I thought I'd found a way out but then I got stopped by 2 policemen coz apparently I'd almost made my way into the Premier of Die Hard 4.0 and Bruce Willis and other celebrities were there... So then I had to find another way around - 5 mins later I found a way out! Bloody celebrities.....

So I met Nick at 7pm and we went and got a snack before the movie started - so we went and collected out tickets and were about to go crazy at the Pick'n'Mix stand when we were stopped by 2 guys who were filming a documentary and needed some shots of ppl getting Pick'n'Mix - so we agreed and so now we're in some random documentary about the film industry... And we still had to pay for our bloody lollies! Nick got a little overexcited and ended up paying £6 in lollies - that's like $15! Anyway - the movie was great (as if a movie with Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom wouldn't be excellent?) I went to the loo before the movie and when I was washing my hands this guy in a suit and tie walked in and started checking himself in the mirror next to me. I just stopped and stood there looking at him and then eventually he noticed me looking at him and he said "You're in the wrong bathroom" and I said "No I'm not - you are" and he said "No... You're in the wrong bathroom" and I said "Do you see any urinals mate?" and he goes "Shit..." and runs out. I thought it was pretty funny....

After the movie we went and got another snack as we'd eaten so many lollies during the movie we couldn't really handle dinner. After that we went to a really great bar which was set out in very bohemian decor. Had a great time (I drank too much as usual - 2 whole pints of cider) and then left at about 1am to catch the night bus home - got home at 2am.

Nick is at Glastonbury at the mo - hope you've had a fab time and didn't get too muddy!
Let me know how it went.

Lots O Love,

Em


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb