SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM!!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello my friends!

Well yesterday was a bit of a mixed day.... I went to meet Robynne (mom's friend who came over from SA for the wedding) before she flew home. We met outside Harrods and had a shop around and then went for a Krispy Kreme and a coffee (Harrods have a Krispy Kreme!!! I had original glazed and a maple icing one - the maple iced KK is EXCELLENT!!!)

So after Rob left I decided that instead of going back to dad's (1 hr journey) I would kill some time in London until I had to meet Nick Berry. So it was about 3pm and I was meeting Nick at 7pm - 4 hours in london should be theoretically easy to kill... It's not unless you want to spend a ridiculously huge amount of money...

So I decided to see a movie - so caught tube to Leicester Sq to check out one of the many cinemas there.... IT COSTS £13 TO SEE A BLOODY MOVIE!!!!! so if I wanted to see a movie I couldn't afford dinner.... so that option was out the window. So I wandered aimlessly around Leicester Sq, Picadilly Circus and Regent St trying to find something to do. I ended up collecting random free newspapers being handed out on street corners and sitting in a dirty doorway reading newspaper after newspaper like a homeless person....

So when it eventually came time to meet Nick Berry I was tired, had sore feet and bloodshot eyes and a killer headache and then we were off to see SPAMALOT at the Palace Theatre.

The show was great - But I strongly advise you that if you ever see a show in london - spend the extra money and get half decent seats....
Our seats were so far up the back of the theatre in the top balcony that I had a better view of the stage lights than the stage. In order to see what was happening I had to negotiate the people's heads in front of me plus a metal railing which stops ppl from falling off the balcony and I had to lean pretty far forwards to see the stage. And that was just the view! The seats were so closely packed together that we actually had to climb into our seats from the row infront and as most of you know Nick isn't exactly short.... He seriously looked like one of those clowns in the tiny toy cars you see at the circus - his knees were up near his ears and he joked that he sould have brought some DVT socks!

But the show was excellent - it was REALLY funny! I highly reccomend it - in saying that tho - I would suggest you to spend the money on The Lion King if you can only see one show when in London... After the show we went to a random pub and had a drink before it closed (AT 11pm!!!) and caught the tube home...

So Nick and I are seeing a movie on Wed evening and trying out one of those Angus Steak houses.

Talk soon,

Em

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb