That first day is a doozy....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Although it's been two days, it feels to all of us that Monday and Tuesday have been smeared together into one, long stretch of a day. We began driving to Houston and on the way through security, Caroline had to get specially searched because of all the jewlery she had on. It ended up being the earrings. Thanks a lot, Ellie.
The flight was long and pretty uncomfortable, at least in my opinion. But we got to watch movies and got served dinner and breakfast. (Who eats turkey sandwiches for breakfast?? That's what I'd like to know.)
We finally arrived after a nine hour, overnight flight. London is great, very busy. Kind of like New York. But not. I don't know how to explain it. Our cab driver, Cyrus, was very talkative but the downside was that my parents were the only ones who could understand him. He says the accents will be harder to understand once we reach Scotland, though. Joy.
Our apartment that we'll be staying in for the remainder of the week is on Queen's Garden Terrace. Check the pictures for more details. So it's been a rough first day because we arrived at around noon London time but about 5 in the morning Austin time. Therefore we were EXHAUSTED. Since sleeping on an airplane has proved extremely difficult, we didn't get much sleep last night.
Ok so funny yet terrifying: Caroline got separated from the rest of us on the tube (AKA the subway). There was a huge crowd waiting to board and a huge crowd waiting to get off, and within the confusion, Caroline ended up on it while the other three of us stood watching it zoom away in terror. Luckily Mom had been able to tell Caroline to "GET OFF AT THE NEXT STOP!" That's become our new motto for the tube. Whenever we're separated, just GET OFF AT THE NEXT STOP, and we'll meet you there. London has not been treating Caroline kindly so far. Prayers appreciated. 😊
Our very first sightseeing event was a few hours ago when we went on the London Eye, the biggest ferris wheel in the world. It looked over Buckingham Palace and some government buildings I don't know the name of. It took about thirty minutes to get around and was pretty awesome!
Ok well even though its about 3 in the afternoon in Austin, it's
the offending earringsthe offending earringsthe offending earrings

These are the earrings Caroline was wearing when she had to be searched by security.
9 at night here. And we're very tired. We'll check in tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

the planethe plane
the plane

The airplane had three aisles!
the apartmentthe apartment
the apartment

This is what our apartment looks like from the outside.
The London EyeThe London Eye
The London Eye

135 meters high!
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

A view from the Eye


19th June 2007

Hello Raglands! I bet that you all are exhausted. Ya'll did a lot of traveling! Caroline-sorry about you getting lost and your earrings. Of course that would happen to you! Haha..well I already miss you so much and I love you all! -Mary Elizabeth
19th June 2007

Hello Raglands! I bet that you all are exhausted. Ya'll did a lot of traveling! Caroline-sorry about you getting lost and your earrings. Of course that would happen to you! Haha..well I already miss you so much and I love you all! -Mary Elizabeth
19th June 2007

fun but tiring
That sounds fun, but really tiring! I like the earring story :) the plane reminds me of LOST, becuase that was what it looked like in the flash-backs, 3 aisles and everything!! I am glad to hear you all got there safely, and prayers will be said for caroline as well as the rest of you. (Caroline-i hope that London starts being nicer!) Your appartment looks really neat and i can't wait to hear all about the accents :))) haha, it sounds like they almost speak a different language... Ah, subway! hopefully that event won't happen again, but if it does, yall will be prepared! I hope you guys all sleep well, and have a good day tomorrow! Love you all :) < ANGEL
20th June 2007

I won't mention to Marc about Caroline :) Enjoy your trip!!!!
21st June 2007

Wow, I miss y'all already!
Hey Raglands!! I know that y'all had a long traveling day and I know that y'all are all tired, but probably having so much fun! I haven't seen your latest post yet, I don't know if your going to do one today because I think it's like twelve there now. But anyways, I just wanted to hear from y'all and I know that you all are having a blast! Oh, and the London Eye sounded like the coolest thing ever! I hope Caroline has been staying close by and keeping out of trouble! :) Stay safe and have a wonderful time in LONDON!! Love you all!
21st June 2007

I love this!
I have laughed and laughed! Thank you guys SO much for sharing the daily events with us! Glad Leslie was thinking on her feet and yelled Get off at the Next Stop! And good for you for listening, Caroline. Keep us posted....it is like being there.....but without the exhaustion! Helen
21st June 2007

Caroline!!
oh my gosh! i can't belive that Caroline got lost amoungst all the "tube" riders! i bet she was so freaked out! i would be too! i am so sorry caroline! give me more details later! :) hopefully the time change isnt too big of a deal but for the most part, TRY and get some sleep!! :] have fun sight seeing! p.s.- your apartment looks very cute! im so jealous!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb