More fun in the most confusing city ever


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today we all woke up and went to Camden Market. It was like a huge 4th Avenue Street Fair. They had a lot of normal stores and then a bunch of vendors that sold artsy stuff. They had so many cute clothes and purses. I had to try so hard not to buy anything. They had one section where they had food from all over the world. It looked amazing, especially considering the fact that good food is hard to come by here. We have all been craving Mexican food since we got here and finally found some at the market but it didn’t look anywhere near as good as Tucson’s food.

After the market, a group of us decided to go to the Tower of London. Basically it’s a big castle and they let you go through all of the rooms and show you where they kept the prisoners. There were even a ton of engravings that old prisoner’s had carved when they were in the jails. I really liked all of the exhibits, it was definitely well worth the trip.

In between the market and Tower Bridge, we decided to go find Platforms 9 and ¾ from Harry Potter. We got so lost on the way to find the platform. Over the past few days we have become really good at navigating the tube system but we still end up getting completely turned around at times. The worst part was that we kept having to ask tube workers where Platform 9 and ¾ from Harry Potter was, which was definitely embarrassing. After a while of searching we finally found it. It was well worth the wait and pretty much made my day!

My interview for the internship is on Tuesday so I decided to go figure out how to take the tube to work. The actual ride wasn’t bad; I am really only 5 minutes or so away. Its always hard to tell how long it will take because of signal failures when the trains just stop moving. Once I got off the tube, I realized I had no idea where to go. I had a map but the thing about London is that they don’t really label their streets. A few random streets will have signs but you basically just have to guess. After almost 2 hours of wandering around I found my work. It’s a really long walk from the tube station so I guess I’ll have to bring flip flops to walk in.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb