From Canada to England...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 16th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the invisible Niagara Fallsthe invisible Niagara Fallsthe invisible Niagara Falls

We were there, you just can't see them. And because the actual town is so touristy we were trying to get out of there as quickly as possible and I didn't try to work hard to get a great picture... But I did finally see them!
It has been a crazy two weeks or so. I spent some time running around Ontario visiting friends and family, and generally having lots of fun. I managed to see all but one of the family "up north"! And I got my first ever view of Niagara Falls; isn't that ridiculous? Growing up four hours away from one of the great wonders of the world and only seeing it at the age of 24? I blame my mother 😊 To celebrate this, I have uploaded a picture of Rosaline and myself at the falls. Unfortunately, because it is night and my camera is perhaps not so very advanced, you can't see the falls. Sorry. But you can imagine a wall of white in the background lit up by multi-coloured lights. And then there's the picture of Grandma relaxing on one of Uncle Daryl and Aunt Connie's decks; I love that view. It was so wonderful to be back in Canada and enjoying the lakes and rivers.

After that, I headed over to England. Estella came down from Scotland and we had a great time acting like tourists and walking everywhere. The first night we went to a West-End show called
Grandma at the LakeGrandma at the LakeGrandma at the Lake

Such a beautiful view...
"The Drowsy Chaperone". It was hilarious. They had taken a 1920's musical ("The Drowsy Chaperone") and made it into a private performance for an older man who was feeling blue. He would pause the record to give us a running commentary and at times would get so carried away that he'd join in the dances. Given that it was the 1920's when it was first produced, he poked fun at some of the lines and generally at everything that he could think of. I know I'm not doing it justice, but it's hard to describe being caught in someone else's stream of consciousness. All I can say is that I'd highly recommend it. If only for the touching lament sung by the bride as she mourns the fickleness of her erstwhile fiance, "I put a monkey on a pedestal".

We also managed to catch "Othello" at the Globe, also an excellent performance. And we met up with Mike, a friend from my last trip to London and a few of his friends for dinner, much fun. However, as this computer won't let me install my picture-getting-from-my-digital-camera software (what would the real name for that be?), those pictures will have
Celebrating our heritage... or somethingCelebrating our heritage... or somethingCelebrating our heritage... or something

We actually ran into a lot of Canadian things over here - a few pubs, lots of flags - so we had to commemorate at least one.
to wait. So you just get to see Estella in front of a Canadian flag and the Novello theatre.

I'm off to Northampton in a couple of hours to visit Julia and Paul and meet the new baby 😊 And then tomorrow morning (at an ungodly hour) flying to Paris! I hope that everyone is doing well, and thank you so much to everyone who has picked me up and dropped me off at various airports, train and bus stations. I have had such an amazing trip so far and it is always wonderful to see you!





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The Drowsy ChaperoneThe Drowsy Chaperone
The Drowsy Chaperone

Estella enjoyed it in spite of having to work hard to see around a rather large head that tended to move all over the place...


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb