Started work


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 20th 2004
Published: August 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Date of entry still a bit out.

After meeting up with Shaune, an old UNITEC mate, I decided the best way forward was to set up a company and contract draft. I registered with an employment agency that Brooke put me onto and they had an interview for me the next day! Had been having trouble figuring out the new ipod, so shot down to the internet cafe to make sure I could show some examples of work and... wiped it! Went to the interview anyway and once I got a hold of some drawings to email them, got the job. Still had to go see Cam's old boss for an interview over there, so that gave me a week or so before I had to start work. Started staying with Becky and Harley over in Ealing during this time, quite cosy over there with me and Josh both on the floor of the very accomodating fiances room! Very gratefull of course to these guys as well. Ealing is right out on the end of the tube line, so shifting across from Archway in the North with Nix and Ali, took 2 trips of an hour each way on a few tubes!! Spent the 2 weeks I was with Bex and Harley flat hunting, bit more sightseeing, mucking around. A lot quieter out there in Suburbia, even managed to get a bed a few times when their accomodating flatmate was away!

Started working while I was staying out West, which was fine, Ill get into that in a later post. During staying out there, I got a taste for what the tube is capable of. It went down on me 2 times in the 1st 3 days, someone under the train and some signal failures, which became quite common! You just learn to jump on and off a few lines to get around the blockage.
Started reading a book Faith had given me when I left NZ on the tube rides. Good book, to good. Managed to get on a tube going the wrong way one day, figured it out, got off, went back a stage, got on the next train and started reading. Was only 6 stops later I looked up and realised I was going the wrong way again! Shit!
Got a call from Phil, Pauls young brother one evening telling me he'd found a ticket for the V festival for me if I wanted it. £100, 3 days into the new job and here's this great oppourtunity to go to a massive 3 day music festival with 70,000 other party goers. So of course I said yes and I was off to my first V!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb