Day 10 - Out in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

British History MuseumBritish History MuseumBritish History Museum

From the front. There was a group of people planning their rendezvous in Spanish while I was taking this picture. I dig the Spanish.
I obviously didn't really keep up with my blogging while I was in the GB, but I'll do my best to remember what went down 😊 Our hotel was out in what appeared to be... ummm... I don't want to say the projects, but yeah... the projects. It wasn't bad, but we couldn't find anything either. After we got to London the first thing we wanted was food. Any food. So we walked around trying to find anything. We started following a trail of McDonalds trash, thinking we had to be getting close, but we didn't find out until another day that we were a block away from it. We ended up ordering a pizza from Speedy's Pizza. It was actually really good. This began the first of many pizza experiences in the GB.

Anyway, on the 25th (Friday), we hopped on a bus to go downtown. The guy at the bus station was really, really nice, but we were really clueless about where to get off. We figured it out though. We got off the bus at Piccadilly Circus. Thanks to one crappy early 90's movie or another, we were warned in advance that this was not actually
British History MuseumBritish History MuseumBritish History Museum

I'm really, really bad at panoramas.
a circus. However, with the sheer amount of people crammed into such a small space, circus maybe isn't too far off. If you'd like to keep track of the disgusting amount of fast food consumption, we ate at Burger King. Then we made our way off to find the British History Museum. On the map, it didn't look like it was too far away, but it was a little bit of a walk. This was what I was looking forward to most in London, so it was the first stop. I had gotten a pamphlet from the hotel that said that the museum was open until 6:00. We got there at 3:30. After wandering around for awhile, they started closing exhibits (and they were actually really rude while doing so). When we asked what time they closed, we were told that they closed at 6:00, but that they had to close up some of their exhibits early. Lame! SO when all was said and done, it seemed like the only thing still open was the gift shop. So we left.

After the British History Museum, we went back to Piccadilly Circus. Again, I can't stress enough that I'm an
Ceiling at British History MuseumCeiling at British History MuseumCeiling at British History Museum

I just thought it was pretty...
incredibly clausterphobic person and I really didn't like being there. So then we made our way to Trafalgar Square. To be 100% honest, Trafalgar Square reminded me of so many plazas in Madrid and it made me miss Spain. I mean, there were fountains, and statues... yeah.

It started to get really cold out (it had already been raining... it rained constantly while we were there), so we went to go wait for the bus. Luckily, we just missed it, and the entire area suddenly became flooded with people on their bikes. I'm not entirely sure what they were protesting, but we thought maybe global warming. I'm all for protesting global warming, but I was SO cold and would've preferred to watch them protest from a warm bus. After about an hour (it probably wasn't that long, but only seemed like it), they left, we got on a bus, and went back to the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Mosaic PicturesMosaic Pictures
Mosaic Pictures

These were pictures made of really small pieces of stuff. It was really cool.
Rosetta StoneRosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone

It's the Rosetta Stone :)
MummiesMummies
Mummies

A lot of the stuff at the British History Museum, I couldn't quite understand why it was there. Someone told me that it looked like the Britain just stole a bunch of stuff from all over.
TombTomb
Tomb

A tomb at the British History Museum. There was also a lot of stuff there that I wondered how they got it into the building... this is one of them.
Piccadilly CircusPiccadilly Circus
Piccadilly Circus

It's a circus alright!
Piccadilly CircusPiccadilly Circus
Piccadilly Circus

Another random Piccadilly Circus picture...
HatHat
Hat

I took this picture for the hat the policeman was wearing.
Shaftesbury AvenueShaftesbury Avenue
Shaftesbury Avenue

A random streetscape.
Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

One of my best panoramas yet!
Statue at Trafalgar SquareStatue at Trafalgar Square
Statue at Trafalgar Square

I don't know what it is... but it's a tall statue.
StreetStreet
Street

Most of the streets told you which way to look so you don't get run over. My mom always said to look both ways...
ProtestProtest
Protest

It was soooooo cold out... and they all seemed very happy considering they were protesting.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb