Leaving Madrid and on to London - Day 9


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today has been yet another terribly long day. My flight was for 10:50 this morning, so I wanted to be on my way to the airport by 8:00 (it takes about an hour to get there normally). Well, I woke up at about 5:30 because I had fallen asleep on my computer. At the time I thought that I should just get up so I didn't end up being late, but against my better judgment I went back to sleep. I ended up waking up a few minutes before 8:00. So I got up really quick, showered, got packed, and went to check out. I rushed down to the Antón Martín metro station and realized that it was rush hour (about a quarter til 9:00). The metro was SO packed, and here I was with luggage. I got some really bad looks. But I pushed my way through as well as any madrileño and finally arrived at the airport at about 10:00. That hour though, was SO awful. It was packed, hot, smelled bad... Do you remember that episode of Seinfeld where Elaine is on her way to that lesbian wedding and she's on the subway and it stops and
HerfordshireHerfordshireHerfordshire

Yeah, this is just a county sign... and honestly, it just kind of happened to be in the picture... it wasn't intentional ;)
she freaks out in her head? That's what it was like. At one point the metro stopped. I was glancing over at people's watches thinking that there was no way I'd make it on time. But I did. I got through with no difficulties, got checked in, and to my gate with about a 1/2 hour to spare. So I went and got a bottle of water and some "jamón jamón" flavored Ruffles (because they're ham flavored, not because I think they sound appetizing). Then I boarded, came to London, and sat in the airport for about 3 hours.

The next adventure was the car. Since we're doing a road trip of Great Britain, we rented a car. It was a disaster... first with getting it (because I'm not 23 yet), then with trying to drive it. After going a little ways and spending about 75% of the time on the wrong side of the road, I decided I needed to drive. So I drove from just outside of the London Luton airport into downtown London... wrong side of the road, roundabouts, and all. I was SO proud of myself. It was actually really scary though. I got honked
English CountrysideEnglish CountrysideEnglish Countryside

I love this one. This is what the English countryside looked like in my head before I actually saw it.
at twice: once for pulling out in front of a car, and once for waiting more than .5 seconds at a green light before I went. BUT, here they have yellow lights before the green lights too. So it's red, yellow, green, yellow, red... That way, when the light turns green, traffic is already moving. Now we're here and just really tired.

I got some great pictures of the English countryside. It was just like I though it would be 😊 It's really, really beautiful. Now we've got 3 more days in London and we're off to explore the rest of the UK 😊 Spain was such a good experience that I hope that the UK can at least be comparable. At least they speak English here... kind of. We stopped to ask for directions 3 times and couldn't understand what any of the people were saying. The funny English saying of the day: they call rest areas (like alongside the roads) "welcome breaks" 😉



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Looking for LondonLooking for London
Looking for London

We literally stopped and had to ask someone where London was. He answered, but we couldn't understand him, so we just kept driving...
Tree-lined roadTree-lined road
Tree-lined road

There was actually a wooden fence that lined the road and it was just covered in vines.
English CountrysideEnglish Countryside
English Countryside

Isn't this beautiful? Just a random, quaint little English road.


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb