LONDON


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tower Bridge May 19thTower Bridge May 19thTower Bridge May 19th

We had just crossed over London Bridge and we swung around and stopped to take pictures of Tower Bridge. On the other side of the bridge from us i the Tower of London were the Crown Jewels are located.
Hey everyone! I know that you have been sitting on the edge of your seat anxiously awaiting my updated blog...well I am sorry that is so late in arriving but I finally found my way to an internet cafe that is open 24hrs (it is almost midnight here).
So anyway, my flight was okay, thank goodness I had something to read because I would not have made it -- I probably slept 30mins on the plane. We got to London and it took my sister and I like 2 hours to check out/get our luggage and then we had to wait another hour for another member of our tour group before we decided to leave. Shannon decided that her first meal in Europe would be Burger King, I might add.
It was another hour and a half from the airport to our hotel (we landed at 8:30am but didnt get to our hotel until about 1:30pm). We traveled with another girl from ASU named Ashley. Our driver was Joe and let me tell you how he could have driven us all off a bridge because the second we got into the car we all passed out until we reached the
Shannon's first mealShannon's first mealShannon's first meal

BURGER KING?!?!
hotel. He was a nice guy.
Anways, upon arrival we met our tour director Sabastien. Shan and I then walked down the street and I got fish 'n chips and transfered over some dollars for £ (which sickened me alittle).
At 3 we had a walking tour of London and then went to an ethnic restaurant called Shish. I had a chicken pita.

Blah Blah. Now, after we ate dinner most of the individuals in our 30-plus group decided they wanted to sleep to get over their jet-lag but my sister and I tagged along with 3 others (DJ, Ryan and Tiffany) and toured China town. It was fun and we took our picture with some cops. We then poked our head into the National Portrait Gallery and listened to some music.
Unfortunately, because it is me, we returned to the hotel and there was a mix-up with our rooms and tour director...Sabastien notified the US Embassy and my parents telling them we were missing! I know. Only could have happened to me right (so here is my first international incident. Does that count?) So we ended up not having a room and our parents thought we had been
China Town May 18thChina Town May 18thChina Town May 18th

These guys get asked all the time to get their pics taken but they were nice about it.
kidnapped by hoodlums. So my sister ended up sharing a room with some guys.

Yesterday was great though. After a bus tour were we stopped and took pics at St. Pauls Cathedral, Tower Bridge and the Buckingham Palace. We drove over the London Bridge. Shan and I got lunch at the Laughing Budda in China town and then visited the National Gallery, British Museum and the Tate Museum. On the way to the Tate we met an interesting local British guy who pointed out the spots on the road where the camera crews take pictures of the Royal Courts Justice...

Today we got up early and traveled to the London Eye (expensive) then I went to a Star Wars exhibit in the Council building and then we crossed the bridge to Big Ben, Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. Shan met a guy named Alex. Then we went back to the British Museum and followed that up with Abbey Road. The British Museum is my favorite museum...lots of mummies, greek pottery, and the rosetta stone.

Tomorrow we are leaving at 7am here (which is like 2am Eastern Standard time) for Paris! We are going to travel the
St. Pauls Cathedral May 19thSt. Pauls Cathedral May 19thSt. Pauls Cathedral May 19th

We stopped here first on our bus tour. I couldnt fit the whole chirch in the picture, and that really upset me. I almost got on the wrong bus on the way out as well...
Chunnel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Millenium Bridge May 19thMillenium Bridge May 19th
Millenium Bridge May 19th

Shan and I crossed this Bridge on the way to the Tate Museum.
End of London May 19thEnd of London May 19th
End of London May 19th

The edge of the city of London is marked by this nice statue. It is all that is left of what this guy on the street told me was once the wall of the city...I do know it is the edge London and Westminster
London Eye  May 20thLondon Eye  May 20th
London Eye May 20th

I didnt freak out in this ferris wheel as much as I did on the one in Coney Island.
Big Ben May 20thBig Ben May 20th
Big Ben May 20th

So we did not get to go in here because it was Sunday and the Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament are closed on Sundays. :(
Alex May 20thAlex May 20th
Alex May 20th

Alex sold ice cream outside of Westminster Abbey.
Westminster Abbey May 20thWestminster Abbey May 20th
Westminster Abbey May 20th

They are only open on Sundays for prayer and service so Shan and I went in to pray so we could look at the inside (Alex told us to).
British Museum Cat May 20thBritish Museum Cat May 20th
British Museum Cat May 20th

It took Shan and me forever to find this stinkin' cat!


24th May 2007

Have fun
Looks like your having fun, but no rain. are you sure your in England? Enjoy your trip and don't forget the post cards!!!!!
28th May 2007

I Miss You Guys!!!!
We miss you and can't wait to find out all about what else is going on!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb