Paris!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 23rd 2007
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

OKAY. So I realized that when I saved my last entry that it did not publish it, so now that I know my way around this blog I might get this out faster...maybe.

Monday May 21st:
Our tour group left London at 10:10am (London time duh) and we traveled to Paris via Eurostar (?), which is a train. We arrived at about 2pm Paris time (so we lost an hour and now I am 6 hours ahead of most of you guys) and checked into our hotel, the Avenir Hotel+9.
From there I grabbed a quick bite to eat down the street and we all headed out to the Eiffel Tower!!! Let me tell you how much I hate stairs! I climbed almost 700 stairs in order to get to the second floor, but I guess it was worth it 😊. Afterwards, Shan and I tagged along with Sabastien and some others to the Latin Quarter where we ate dinner. From there we literally ran to get on Saine river to catch our boat for a river tour. Everything was lit up and colorful so it was worth it even though most of my pictures didn't really turn out.
I crashed after that but my sister went out and didn't get back to the hotel until like 2:30am because the Metro (aka the subway) stops running at midnight, and they walked all the way back. Haha.

Tuesday May 22nd:
We were supposed to go on an included bus tour like we did in London but of course the bus driver never showed. Instead the french tour guide did a walking tour instead. We started in the Concorde Square which contains the Egyptian Obelisque that was built I believe in 13th century BC. From there we walked through the Jardin des Tuileries to the Lourve (like in the Da Vinci Code). We did not go in but continued to Notre Dame, passing St. Chapelle.
Afterwards, Shan and I, along with our new Hawaiian friends Matt and Deanne, went back to the Latin Quarter for fondue, goose liver, mussels and flan.
We went to Musee de'Orsay, Napoleons tomb, back to Concords Square and then the Arc de Triomphe.

Today, Wednesday May 23rd:
After an hour and a half of walking we managed to find this internet cafe. When we woke we got on a train all the way to Versailles. The gardens were beautiful! Of course the palace was too, but I was more partial to the gardens and statues. I could have spent all day there but we had to leave around noon to get lunch and head back to Paris to see the Louvre. We got some good pizza and salad right outside of the palace though.
The Louvre was great, but way too big! I was disappointed in that we could not really take any pictures of the paintings, including the Mona Lisa! I KNOW! I tried to sneak my camcorder but those security guys were sneaking around in the crowd.
Shan and I got Starbucks on the way out and headed towards the Catacombes, but unfortunately they were closed. Instead we walked around and found this cafe. We are headed to the Latin Quarter again and we are leaving Paris tomorrow morning. We are going to make a stop in Brussels on our way to Amsterdam.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



24th May 2007

Thanks for the update.
Sounds like you girls are having quite an adventure. I'm very happy for you. Keep the updates coming.

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 62; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb