No More Work!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally, its my last day at work. Time has seemed to crawl by since we first started to plan this trip.

Almost everything is done now, all our preparations taken care of. The house has sold, we have shipped all our possessions, now all we have is two (fairly heavy) bags for our backs.

I thought I better give a brief rundown of the plan. It may change but we have an initial idea of where we want to go.

We have a few dates that we need to meet (visas, or booked trips), but other than that we may move things around.

We want to do this without taking a plane, I dont think it has been done that many times. I was dismayed when I found blogs and stories on the net of other people doing this. But it was satisfying to see that most of them ended up flying the last leg to Australasia. What cheaters!!


On Saturday we board a train at Waterloo train station, on to Berlin.
After that, down towards Venice, we stop in Prague, Vienna, Bratislave, Ljubljana.
We then meander around Italy for a while, before taking a ferry to Croatia
In Croatia, we are going on a 7 day backpacker boat trip through the islands. Should be a nice rest from travelling
On to Sarajevo and Belgrade, then Bulgaria and Romania (spending most of the time in Transylvania).
Hungary and Slovakia next, before heading up to Krakow.
We rush across poland, and then Lithuania, then Latvia before taking a train from Riga to Moscow.
Explore Moscow, and surrounding cities, then take the Tran Siberian to Lake Baikal in Siberia.
We fight off hordes of marauding Mongolian Horsemen in Mongolia, before escaping on the train down to Beijing
We have a month in China, before we head down to South East Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand).
Taking a two week break in Thailand, we will relax on a deserted island, meeting up with friends who have real jobs.
Next a three week trip through the jungles of Borneo, before heading back to Thailand
Down through Peninsula Malaysia, and through to Singapore (for Christmas).
On the 29th of December (Lynda's 30th), we will posh up, I will don a white suit and panama hat, and we board a cruise from Singapore to Perth.
Arriving in Western Australia, we take the Indian Pacific train direct to Sydney.
In Sydney we will try to hitch a lift on a Cargo Ship to Tauranga, NZ.


All in all, I reckon we will be buggered by the time we arrive in New Zealand, we may need a holiday.


Here are all the countries we are planning to visit.




Advertisement



17th May 2007

I'm first!!
Yeah! I'm the first to post something... Wish you guys the best! Ross, you're going to be missed at work - now I'm doomed to eat lunch at my desk every single day! Hope it all goes well and that you put your camera to good use! Take care!!! Jonathan
17th May 2007

WOW~~
what else can I say~ I envy you guys. May this adventure of yours be full of fun and excitement. Safe journey back home, I will be waiting here.
21st May 2007

Envy!!
Hi guys, Have an awesome time I am very jealous, the ol' feet are pretty itchy at the mo! Good luck I can't wait to hear all about your trip, looking forward to that first catch up beer in Thailand in October : )
21st May 2007

Sounds great
That trip sounds great....may the 8 pair of under garments be enough for this massive trip ;o)
21st May 2007

Very Jealous
Hi guys, I am very jealous, the trip looks awesome - hope it all works out just the way you want! take care and I will definitely follow your journey.

Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0999s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb