Top Five Things I have Learned as an Intern in a Global Design Company


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I can’t even begin to accurately explain how much I have learned during the first half of my internship. These five points are some of the most important, high-level professional aspects that I identified in the last four months.

1. Timing is Every Thing

Naturally, I am a person who does not like to hold back. I say what I feel (politely) and jump into new events with little hesitation. Usually this forward demeanour is welcomed by most people, and generally my frankness makes people feel comfortable. During the majority of my internship, this quality works to my advantage. However, I have learned that it is an important skill to know when it is the best time to say certain things. Important business information or knowledge of major changes coming up can be very tempting to discuss with other colleagues. Exposing the information at the right time can be very powerful.

2. Correct Corporate Etiquette

In a large corporation, there are people delegated to specific tasks, both large and small, and there is a specific way in which these tasks should be done. Supplying stationary, washing dishes, retrieving mail, creating graphs, monitoring internet activity, and managing IT, are just some of the specific jobs outside the design and development world at Burberry. When ordering stationary, there is particular way to go about doing it. You must fill out an online form, send it to a specific person who will then it have it signed by the correct people, and finally order it from a specific catalogue. It is frowned upon if someone breaks this cycle and goes straight to the division lead to get the papers signed. These identified processes apply to setting up meetings, invoicing expenses, emailing, making telephone calls, filing expense reports. Knowing the corporate etiquette will speed up your work process and increase your respect at the company.

3. Respecting the Corporate Hierarchy

Like corporate etiquette, knowing and respecting the corporate hierarchy can only increase your success within a corporate structure. At the end of the day, we are all just people trying to do our jobs well. Whether you are part of the kitchen staff or president of womenswear everyone adds value to the company. However, politics plays a very important role in a large corporation and knowing the rules to the game is crucial. Knowing the leaders of the divisions and, to some degree, making an effort to put your best foot forward is very important. Specifically, I now know to ask about the leads of the divisions and make sure I know who they are (even if I have not met them before).

I remember the first time I met the head of Burberry’s global IT department. Considering the project that I am working on is within the IT department, he is THE boss! After about two weeks at Burberry, he stopped by the office looking for our supervisor. So, politely, I told him that our supervisor was in a meeting and then asked him who he was. He started laughing, told me his name, and said, “You must be the new intern from the States”. When he left the room, the business analyst looked at me and said “Do you know who that was?!!!”

My embarrassment showed in the color of my face. Knowing who to ask and how to phrase a question depending on who it is critical!

4. Knowing You- Self Confidence!
Knowing who you are and sticking to your initial instincts is essential. When I first arrived at Burberry, I tried to act very professional and did not show my true personality. Like I stated before, naturally, I am very forward and I love to get into the action. I have a hard time disguising these traits. Some people remain so professional at work and never really expose their true personality and it is very hard to feel comfortable with these co-workers. In general, most people like to identify and relax a bit around their co-workers. These relationships create a more enjoyable workplace for everyone. Because I joined a team where personalities shine and outside friendships are encouraged, I got to really be myself. Co-workers outside our team responded positively to my personality and my network began to grow. My self confidence rose and I began to really feel comfortable being myself, whether this professional or not. I now realize that coming into a company and being confident about who you are is necessary to grow in a company the size of Burberry.


5. Learning the Design and Development Process
In school, students are responsible for every aspect along the design process; mood boards, sourcing, sketching, line flats, color, fabric, CAD images, line lists, specifications, sewing, and pressing. It is hard to comprehend how products are developed in a large global company. The process is essentially the same, but again, each task is delegated to specific individuals. Specific parts to the development process can occur across the world. I do recognize that, depending on the size of a company, this process can vary, but the tasks, terminology, and software used in development is basically the same. Learning the design and development process is (by far) the most important thing that I have learned during this internship.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb