London Day 4 & 5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday we visited Kew Gardens followed by the Natural History & Victoria and Albert Museums. We finished the day with a wonderful dinner at a Belgian restaurant.

Kew Gardens is very large and we were not able to see everything. There are some very beautiful orchids in one of the green houses. Some of the first photos show the gardens outside the Palm Green House. The second green house we visited had so many rooms that I am still not sure that I went through them all.

The Natural History Museum has a wonderful collection of Dinosaur bones- mostly made from casts of the real thing. Nevertheless, very impressive. I just find it amazing that these beasts actually roamed the Earth. The V & A Museum was next, it houses many sculptures, paintings and other works of art- this was my favorite. There was a room that had fashion over the last 100 years or so. All of you know how much I love to shop, so it should not be a surprise that I spent a great deal of time in the fashion section. The fashion section, however, was not my favorite part of this museum- there were a couple of sculptures that I really loved. There were also some gorgeous tapestries. There was one floor that was closed, so I was not able to see it all, but I think I got to see the best parts.

The phone booths shown are the ones just outside the Natural History Museum.

On Monday, we had an afternoon flight to Lubeck, so not alot of time to see things, but we did finally manage to find Harrod's- wonderful handbag section.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Kew Gardens #11Kew Gardens #11
Kew Gardens #11

Kew Palace
Victoria & Albert MuseumVictoria & Albert Museum
Victoria & Albert Museum

This is the courtyard. I couldn't get the outside of the building to fit in a photo.


30th April 2007

THE FLOWERS ARE BEAUTIFUL
You know how I love flowers, and these photos are so beautiful. I am sure you had a blast at Harrod's. It is funny that they still have phone booths in London. John tried to find one the other day (it is a story best saved for a phone converstation or face to face....) and there was not one to be found in a strip mall area. We live in the AGE of CELL PHONES....

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb