London Adventure Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 11th 2007
Published: April 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I just got back today's long walk and am ready to relate some the happenings here.
My bag did end up arriving the day I checked into the Dover Castle so I have been able to change clothes and take showers which is kinda nice really.
My first day of traveling, the day I arrived, I did very little sightseeing. Just took the tube to the see the Tower Bridge which is very cool. That night I had to find food which ended up being a hastle but the only real event of that night was that I walked into the Five Belle's pub and legally ordered my first beer. Sorry Dad it felt kind of strange that I wasn't with you but I guess that will have to wait for 21.
When I first walked into my room in the Castle I was greeted by two other travellers from Beligium named Tom and Sabrina. We greeted each other and said what we were planning on seeing that day and then each went our own ways. This is Easter Sunday and it just so happensed that I was walking past Southwark Cathedrale and mosied on in just before the Easter service. Talk about an amazing experience. I sat through an Easter service in one of London's most popular churches.
That day I saw St. Paul's Cathedral. Simply amazing!! First of all the church has been there since 604 AD, which after a small amount of math says that it is over 1400 years old!! Holy Crap!! Christopher Wren must have an amazing lust for life because he had a knack for creating beauty and St. Paul's is a perfect example.
The rest of the day I just wandered around and by simple chance found St. Jame's park (which I love) Buckingham Palace, Trafalgers Square, and Picidilly circus.
London is a city that has history lurking behind every corner. The best way to see it I have found is to just wander.
That night I met back up with Tom and Sabrina and crossed the street and had a couple drinks with them while we talked of polotics, racism, and cultural differences. Amazing! It turns out Tom is running for the a seat in Belgium's paraliment under the green party. We had ourselves a miny Bush hate session, I loved it.
After that we were going up the stairs of our hostel and we ran across a mini-party of people out of a window on a landing and we joined them. We were a group of 2 Germans, 2 Aussies, the 2 Belgians (spelling?), myself, and ironically enough 2 americans from none other than Cleveland Ohio!
Great day and that was only the first one!!
More stories to come later 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb