Welcome to my blog!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

(L-R) Katie, Sarah-Louise and Alex (L-R) Katie, Sarah-Louise and Alex (L-R) Katie, Sarah-Louise and Alex

As you can see, we like to partaaay with, ahem, interesting consequences - what will become of us on our international adventure!?
Here is the first installment of my travel blog. In just a couple of days my friend Alex and I will be heading off to Cuba where we will be staying in Havana and Varadero. Then on the 15th of April we will fly to Nassau in the Bahamas to meet up with Sarah-Louise. This holiday was the ultimate nightmare to plan, with various problems with hotels (ending with us cancelling our original Bahamas hotel after reading dire reviews), we were going to do a GAP Adventure tour, but they cancelled on us,a confusing flight to book, squeezing 3 people into a hotel room, booking a flight with a little Cuban airline. I did most of the booking all by myself, so I dread to think how this will turn out, haha! Mum did step in and help me at the times I when was so stressed, I thought I was going to explode (or give up)!

I'm currently swept up in a whirl of shopping, making lists and reading travel guides (but especially shopping). Today I bought a pink kaftan with accents of fluorescent green (v Christopher Kane), a black cotton tunic-type dress with black rope belt from el second-hand shop (v Kate Moss at Glasto but will work well in Caribbean climes too!), a light Joseph jacket in the most beautiful blue, a green wrap mini-dress/kaftan, some pink wedge flip-flops, white soft leather wedges and some Yves Saint Laurent espadrilles. And a blue 1950s sundress, I think it'll go great with Havana's faded glamour vibe. Tomorrow I will be looking for a swimsuit. I'm going to try and stretch my budget and pay a visit to Browns...so you will probably be able to find me on South Molton Street tomorrow! And some shorts, tops, whatever from Topshop and/or Urban Outfitters. Yay shopping!

I'm also going to be intensively eating marmite over the next few days as apparently it makes your blood taste bad so mosquitoes bite you less. Still I'll be stocking up on repellent at Boots tomorrow.

Alex has left it to the very last minute to get her visa, so she'll be doing that tomorrow. The people at the cuban embassy are really nice! I'm a bit worried about her as she didn't get vaccinated for Hepatitis A, which you're supposed to do (I did about 3 weeks ago). But I'm sure she'll be fine! Still, I'm glad I had the injection, it was a wee bit scary but better safe than sorry!

I'm going to go and plan for our trip! Write some more lists, maybe start packing... I'm very excited!


Advertisement



4th April 2007

Yay can't wait! This is all about clothes! But they do sound nice! xxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb