London Day 5 and 6


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Royal Academy of the ArtsRoyal Academy of the ArtsRoyal Academy of the Arts

This is where we went to see the Waterhouse painting exhibition.
Day 5 found us back in the eclectic part of London. I talked Kim into taking a workshop with me ... "psychicness for dummies." I thought perhaps I could elevate myself from being "psychic as a doorknob" into something a little more respectable ... maybe, "she is sorta intuitive."

There were 14 of us in the five-hour workshop. Most of us were scared to death. We were going to be thrown right into "how-to-become-psychic" exercises. We had a great time. Met a lot of really nice people: Russians, Italians, Asians, Brits and Americans. Actually, being "psychic" can translate into being observant, watching body language, gut instinct, perception, etc. Useful tool if you have to deal with people!

So I made a new friend, Claire. But don't worry, I won't be bringing her home with me! I plan to get together with her when I return to London after the trip to Germany.

It was a nice afternoon. We came home, made dinner, watched a movie and then went to bed. Last night was the first night I had a really good sleep since I came down with the cold. I lost my voice today, and can't find it
Royal Academy of the ArtsRoyal Academy of the ArtsRoyal Academy of the Arts

Closer view of the front entrance at the back of the square.
anywhere. Kim thinks I sound like Minnie Mouse. I am pretty squeaky.

Day 6 and we're being pretty lazy. Just hanging around the flat and enjoying each other's company. We know that we have to get up and get going ... I want to go see the J.W. Waterhouse painting exhibit at the Royal Academy of the Arts. He is a favorite painter of mine ... his painting of a mermaid in a grotto is my absolute favorite. I have a poster of it hanging in my bathroom and it's what started the mermaid decor in our bathrooms. I loved the exhibit, and even got to see my favorite painting up close and personal. Of course, I had to buy the catalogue of paintings, and postcards, and calendar!

After spending time at the Royal Academy, Kim took me to her favorite store, Fortmum & Mason, a hidden gem of London; the working man's Harrods. Inside it looks so typical British. Very reserved, neat, many things all very meticulously displayed. You can buy anything from food that looked too perfect to be real, to gifts of china and leather and books. Quite elegant. Of course I was worried the
J. W. WaterhouseJ. W. WaterhouseJ. W. Waterhouse

Waterhouse was a British painter who lived from the late 1800s to early 1900s.
whole time that I would knock something off a shelf with one of my bags, or sneeze really loud, or you know, do anything that would confirm that I shouldn't be in there! At least today my clothes matched and my nails were clean.

Stopped at the neighborhood market on the way back to Kim's flat. Picked up dinner, you know, the kind that slips right into that preheated oven. Our kind of cooking. But you would better understand if you saw Kim's kitchen. Her sink is big enough to hold three cups or glasses. Washing dishes is a challenge. And her washer can only hold four or five items, and it washes and sorta dries in the same container. It is so small that she usually washes two tubs a day. Same with her frig. It's daily trips to the market because the frig and freezer hardly hold more than a handful of items.

We're packing and getting up at oh dark hundred (5:00 a.m.) to catch the Eurostar train. We're going to Belgium for a mom and daughter mini trip. We'll spend the night in Bruges, Belgium tomorrow night and be back Wednesday evening. Kim and
London Water FeatureLondon Water FeatureLondon Water Feature

London's answer to Rome's Trevi Fountain, British style.
Rich just return from there several weeks ago and she wants me to see it. We get to travel under the English Channel. That will be an experience.

See you in Belgium.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Royal Academy of the ArtsRoyal Academy of the Arts
Royal Academy of the Arts

Entrance to the Academy square.
Front DoorsFront Doors
Front Doors

Kim standing at the front door of the Royal Academy of the Arts.
Architectural DetailArchitectural Detail
Architectural Detail

Royal Academy's primary entrance ceiling.
Fortnum & MasonFortnum & Mason
Fortnum & Mason

Kim's favorite gift store; what she calls a "hidden gem."
Fortnum & MasonFortnum & Mason
Fortnum & Mason

Clock above the entrance.
Fortnum & MasonFortnum & Mason
Fortnum & Mason

The entire building is full of gifts for your favorite relatives!
MousetrapMousetrap
Mousetrap

Longest running play in the world.
MousetrapMousetrap
Mousetrap

Kim and Terry after the play.
MousetrapMousetrap
Mousetrap

Kim and Rich enjoyed the play.


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb