Arrived at the backpackers and started training


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wembley
September 18th 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Helloooo again

I’m at the YMCA backpackers now, got here on Sunday evening after having dinner with my Aunt and Uncle at a nice Italian restaurant close by. I was knackered though, had been out on Saturday with Jstar. We had a drink or two at his flat then went off to some pub in Camden to meet some of his flatmates. It wasn’t too bad, the music was different to the stuff that gets played in Wellington but it was a pretty good night, I won’t go into too much detail! But basically we stayed there for a bit then went back to the flat and I didn’t go to sleep until 7.20am, had about 4 hours sleep, got up again and there were still people awake haha crazy nocturnal people. Two of them went off about midday to this placed called Church that’s only open on a Sunday and it’s a pub or something where you go and basically just drink, it’s open from about 11am-4pm. I wish I wasn’t so tired and didn’t have to come here so I could’ve gone too! Soooo the rest of the day I just dozed and was really lazy 😊

Well now the YMCA is soooo 5star… I’m sharing a little room with two other girls who are really nice. One of them has been on the ships before so she’s been quite helpful, she’s an Asian lady Janice, and the other girl, Tamsin, is from England but not nearby. We are sharing a shower and toilet with the room beside us and the bloody shower blocks up so we have to shower quick otherwise it’ll overflow onto the floor 😞
Yesterday we had to get up at 5am! 😞 We met at 6.15am in the reception to go out and have our medical done which was a blood test, chest xray, eye test, checked our heart and lungs etc. It took forever to get through all of us girls because there were only two doctors. We got there just before 7am and I must’ve left about 10am or after so we were just waiting around watching tv, chatting etc. Lots of paperwork on the first day and we were given homework to prepare a short speech about ourselves to say in front of the girls (30ish) and like 10 ladies that were from the training academy or had come from another country, we didn’t really get told who they were exactly. So we did that today and I was fourth, typical that I was one of the first ones! But it was good to get it done quickly. We have a white uniform which is so dumb because it gets so easily stained! I already got lipstick and foundation on it haha so it’s hanging up drying after me washing it. Today we didn’t do any practical, just the speeches and more paperwork and writing... boring. More homework yay.. Oh and we did a lil quiz/test today which everyone passed. Tomorrow we have our entrance test which we have to pass and that’s on body products. Ummmm what else. All the girls here are really nice, there are a lot of girls from other countries with strong accents like Russia, Poland, France, Australia, Ireland. I love listening to them talk, they sound really cool. I’ve met one from New Zealand but not Wellington.
And we have to train all through this weekend 😞 AND we have a CURFEW double sad face :’( So gay! Although when we have a day off, say next Sunday, we can do whatever on the Saturday so that’s alright. But I sort of feel like a baby again with a curfew, and there’s ladies who are like 30s/40s, imagine how they must feel!
The food here isn’t too bad, there’s definitely enough and it’s all paid for so that’s good. Put my photos up on my wall today so I don’t forget your faces :P
Ohyea today before we did our speech about ourselves, our trainer was coming round telling us where to improve on our appearance and wow did she tell us to put a lot of makeup on. I already had like everything on my face and she said I needed more, more bronzer/blusher, more eyeliner, darker shadow, brighter lipstick. After we all came back from fixing up our make-up and hair I felt like a tranny : it was really important to look good and do well in our speech because the adults who came to watch were judging us and deciding which ship to place us on. Also we have a few ladies who sat in the back of the room just watching the whole day, I think they were observing our behaviour and judging us too :S AND we have loads of rules and regulations we have to follow at the backpackers so we get told on if we are being too loud or disruptive. Bit anal isn’t it.

I’m going to be really busy over the next few weeks so don’t know if I’ll update this much, it probably won’t be that exciting anyway. I’m meant to be studying right now.. oops.

Hope everything’s all good back in NZ!

😊 xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb