I obviously have too much time on my hands!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wembley
February 28th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I decided that I might do a “day in the life of” entry seeing as I still don’t have a job, and as a result have copious amounts of time. I decided to go around and take some pictures of the local neighbourhood, but then my batteries ran out, so there are a few pictures to keep things interesting (well… moderately so).

The little cars I found very amusing. I was trying to work out whether A: The driver of the orange ridiculously small car, was trying to show the owner of the grey ridiculously small car, exactly what you can do (and the versatile parking tricks) with ridiculously small cars. B: It was just a coincidence that two ridiculously small cars were parked side by side in a ridiculously small space, or C: I busted a ridiculously small car mating ritual. Either way, I would be embarrassed to be seen in one of these, even if I could park in a bicycle park.

The “estate” buildings are another foreign concept to me. We are obviously lucky that in New Zealand with our “state housing” which are little (or even large) houses for families to live in WITH LAWN, and while being obvious are well built and private. When I first came over I envisaged “estates” as being large expansive properties with owners running around in jodhpurs, they most certainly aren’t. Have a look for yourself; tenants are lucky if they get somewhere to hang their clothes.

The funniest thing is that someone I used to work with was telling me about a NZ girl that came for a job interview at the organisation. It had come down to this NZ girl or another English one who was equally good and so the pro’s and con’s discussion ended up at the pub- as all important business seems to here. The office manager (also a NZer) added to the list of con’s for the NZ girl that “She lives in Acton. I used to live in Acton and it is such a hole! She has been here 7 years, and still chooses to live there.” The office manager lives in Maida Vale but in the estate buildings. Right.

I went to a group interview yesterday for a graduate position. As we went around the room and introduced ourselves I realised that it is true what people say about a New Zealand accent being good because interviewers can’t place where you are from. I listened to the girl from Essex, and guy from Leighton and I actually noticed the difference in accents and the difference it made to their presentations of themselves. I am also glad that no one can place Waikato Uni on a hierarchical scale that they have over here for universities.

I have been temping and not working for about two months now, which had been a bit rough on the old bank account! Luckily HSBC has not been forthcoming with a credit card offer so I am at least not in debt! After weeks of not having any interviews I have had 6 in three days, three of which are second interviews. One is tomorrow, and I am crossing my fingers that I will have a job offer by the end of the day! There was apparently a close shave with a reference call at my old work at the NHS today. Someone rang asking for my old manager, but still luckily being friends with all the people in the office (except my old manger) it was not directed towards the manager that I didn’t get on with and was instead redirected towards the office manger. So fingers crossed that I will get a fabulous job, can earn some fabulous English £’s and spends some fabulous weekends away which I can write about!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kilburn High StreetKilburn High Street
Kilburn High Street

From upstairs of bus


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb