Live Earth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wembley
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having been too young for Woodstock and too poor for Live Aid, I have always wanted to go to an all day rock concert. I finally got the chance as my friend Mike was able to get tickets to Live Earth. Actually, he too is a member of tenUK, or as I like to call them, the miracle workers and they were able to get him six tickets. So, relatively early in the morning, Jeremy, Mike, Sabi and I headed out to Wembley Stadium for the event. We met our friends Vere and Henry there and the six of us spent the day listening to music.

For those of you who missed all the drama because you don’t live in London, Wembley Stadium has been around for years. In fact, Russ, Kate and I saw Helen Reddy there back in the day. Now - doesn’t that just date me! A few years ago, they tore down the old stadium and built a new one on the old footprint. This being England, it was over budget and well over time, but eventually they got it done. It is simply gorgeous and holds 70,000 people - the number that were rumoured to be there today.

What follows is my meandering thoughts on the bands and the day. No photos, I’m afraid. I actually followed the rules and did not bring my camera only to discover that loads of people had them. Oh well, if you really want to see photos, just log on to the site.

I was absolutely insistent that we get there on time because the first band on was Genesis. I have been a fan for years and couldn’t wait to finally see them live. WHAT a disappointment. The three of them, even Phil Collins, just went through the motions. No energy whatsoever. My friends were very nice about the whole thing, but there was a fair bit of “I could have told you so” in their eyes.

Genesis was followed by Razorlight and Snow Patrol. Since I no longer drive, I never listen to the radio anymore, so I didn’t know these bands. Both were fantastic. Although I didn’t get home until late, I immediately downloaded some of their songs and have been listening to them a lot lately. Highly recommended.

Next was David Gary and Damien Rice. I first heard David Gray standing in a field with a bunch of ZPro people in the summer of 2001. I have loved him ever since and his songs now remind me of people that I love who live on the other side of the world. It seemed very fitting to hear him again and, thanks to the modern technology of mobile phones, I was able to text the people I had been with and tell them what was happening. It made them feel less far away.

Then came Kasabian (wanna be Oasis) and Paolo Nutini who is very young and so has been getting a lot of press. Good on him - not my type.

Finally - one of the bands I had come to see - Black Eyed Peas. I discovered this band as they played in an episode of Las Vegas (no comments, please. We all need our dose of soap opera!). I love their music and was really excited to see them. Unfortunately, the technology let them down so their mikes were not quite up to snuff. Oh well, the crowd carried them through. I would definitely go see them again, but I think they would be better in a smaller venue.

Wait for it - Duran Duran! There are some bands that should just remain safely tucked away in the 80’s and this is one of them. Nick Rhodes, for goodness sake, still wears his hair the same way with the same awful eye makeup. Simon Le Bon still wears the same suits, but in a concession to the modern era, does not push up the sleeves. We had quite a giggle - but embarrassingly, we knew all the songs.

Red Hot Chili Peppers, Bloc Party and Corinne Bailey Rice we listened to from afar as were ready for a bit of a stroll and something to drink. We found champagne (as one does) and enjoyed ourselves pretending to be grown-ups.

We got back in time for Keane. I love this band and, again, it brings back great memories as Matt and I listened to their CD one afternoon as we drove through the Austrian Alps. Whenever I hear one of their songs, I remember sitting in this gorgeous Merc (we only rent the best!) singing “Somewhere Only We Know” with my buddy as gorgeous scenery flashed by.

Now, you’re not going to believe this bit. I have actually sat through a set by Metallica, Spinal Tap and the Beastie Boys. REALLY not my style, but as Mike said later that evening at dinner, “For the rest of our lives, we can tell people we saw these three bands in concert. It will only up our cool factor.” Reckon he’s right - I’ll live it on for years at cocktail parties.

Get ready for the rant - The Pussycat Dolls. I am not a fan of censorship, but this band should be put out of existence. It is a group of anorexic women, all with fake looking breasts, who wear next to nothing on stage and sing a song called “Don’t Cha”. Ignoring for a moment the appalling grammar, this song winds me up. Basically, the song is about a woman singing to her friend’s boyfriend such wonderful lyrics as “don’t cha wish your girlfriend was hot like me?” and then going on to tell him that although her friend does not put out, she does and isn’t that better? Now - I don’t have too many feminist sensibilities, but if Isabelle were thirteen and listening to this song, I would sit her down for a long heart to heart. Imagine being a group of women and sending that message into the world. My favourite bit? The lead singer has been quoted as saying that the song is about empowering women. My response is that she should eat something and learn something - that’s what’s empowering!

OK - sorry - but I warned you. When this “group” got off stage, the Foo Fighters came on. Interesting music, but not my cup of tea.

They saved the best for last - Madonna. Now, here’s an empowered woman! Into her 50’s and looking great. She can actually sing and dance and she managed to get all 70,000 on their feet singing and dancing. She is everything I have heard and then some. Absolutely loved her and would pay big money to see a full concert of hers.

So - that was my all day rock concert experience. As we were all saying at dinner, really glad we did it but wouldn’t rush to do it again. Ten hours of music is a lot! Or, maybe it’s just that we’re beginning to show our ages….


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb