Pash Rash in SoHo


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Soho
October 27th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a few uneventful weeks after the Oktoberfest (which was well needed) a new house mate moved in. Our usually quiet and often dull home is now filled with Janette. A young student from York completing a internship in London for the next 10 weeks.

Her voice and personality are loud, unashamed and brash, however she is also gentle and kind. With Janette there is also Edd, and the two are in a constant battle to out yell and out foul each other, together we form a hilarious trio.

As the two are both gay, I am coming familiar with London’s gay bars. Dressing up, pre dinks and constant laughter fill the house each Saturday night. Janette, as a fem’e lesbian, takes longer to get ready that Edd and I combined. We jump on the tube and usually head to SoHo.

I love SoHo.

The epicentre for night life. Here you will find every walk of life, from the gays and fag hags (our group included), to the Stella’s, metro’s and emo’s, the street’s are cut off from traffic and the roads are full of the young and young alike, who pass each other with nods of approval or blatant scoffing.

The Bars pile out onto the street and the lines for the clubs reach around the corners. Everyone is in a good mood, everyone is ready. It is Saturday night.

A deceivingly plain looking pub, is the gateway to the narrow stairs leading into the basement for those who know they are there. Ku night club: The music is pumping, the bar tenders are all shirtless gorgeous men showing off their extremely toned torsos, the drinks cheap and the patrons gay. I was one of 3 females in the club.

As for many gay men, there is still a fascination for the female body. I was instantly popular, dancing with majority of the bar and accepting the copious amounts of sambucca shots that found themselves in my hand. No man can dirty dance, the way the gay man can. Their hands are just as frisky, however the intention is absent so a certain tolerance is shown that normally would result in a slap in the face.

It seemed I was the experiment for the night as I was passed from Queen to Queen, first for a dance, drink, and often a fabulous and drawn out kiss. It is a different attitude to kissing a man who you know has no interest in taking it any further. There is a certain childlike innocence and curiosity about the kiss, similar to how one would perhaps practice on the back on their hand as a child or their girl friends during a sleep over.

We all danced until the lights came on and even then we had to asked to leave.

My next adventure took place at Heaven, AKA: G.A.Y, which Richard Branson used to own (and perhaps he still does), this club was massive and could hold 10,000 patrons. It has housed performances by Kylie Minogue and other gay icons. We were able to watch Diva Fever perform, who were this week’s X Factor group voted from the show, and last year’s winner, both who meant little to me.

The energy and vibrancy was infectious, this club was home for the night to all walks of sexual orientation, however I was suspicious of any man who claimed to be strait in a bar called G.AY. The entrance was staffed by gym junkie dykes and 2 metal detectors, I have to admit that I am cautious of any establishment that requires such security. I was patted down by a butch female, who upon seeing my shocked face guessed this was my first time to the venue, she offered the advice to not admit that to any other staff and gave me a wink before sending me inside with a pat on the behind.

There were so many people and different rooms I would not be able to guess a figure. I spent the night dancing with numerous people, looking at all the different rooms, drinking from my sneaky vodka bottle in my bra that surprisingly the security guard had missed during my molestation, and looking for my friends.

As dawn threatened to reveal my messed hair, sweaty face and streaked make up, we left for home.

Though I enjoy the gay bars, I am looking forward to hitting a few trendy bars this Friday night. I have always loved the corporate end of week drinks, I just hope that London can add a little personalised twist.


Advertisement



27th October 2010

Pash Rash in SoHo
Cate, You're incorrigible and so much fun!!!! Keep you stories happening girl. I wish I was there to play with you. London is a great town. Lots of love to you Virginia

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb