Harrods and A Wild Squirrel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Richmond
April 11th 2005
Published: April 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

A Squirrel in Hyde ParkA Squirrel in Hyde ParkA Squirrel in Hyde Park

Isn't it adorable? - This just highlights the unhappiness of those pet squirrels chained to the cage in Bangkok, though....they didn't look anything like this one. (Yeah, I know, different breeds, but that's not what I mean).
April 11th 2005.....late afternoon
South-West London, England.

Spent the day walking about London. My legs are killing me. It began with the decision to walk from the hostel to Harrods, in Knightsbridge, rather than waste the money on a bus or the tube, which really are unrealistically expensive. I was quite enchanted with the Natural History Museum's architectural qualities, and so trotted in for a quick look. They've got some really great dinsosaur skeletons and such there, as well as much which I didn't see, including, apparently, an earthquake simulator! But I wandered into the conservation area, with all these examples of how we're plundering the earth and the effects and such forth, and it was a bit overwhelming, sort of coming from all sides and all. So although I don't usually get too fussed about such things, I ended up standing in front of one particularly moving exhibit and just crying and feeling hopeless and thinking very badly of the human race. So I trotted straight back out again - coward that I am. But it got me to thinking. Some of those displays and shows that they've got really need to be displayed as advertisements, so you cannot help but see them, on the television.

Nonetheless, I walked on and finally ended up outside of the very famous Harrod's. It's very lovely inside, very fancy, like an expensive nob's shopping centre which has been gracious enough to deign to open up for the masses in the hopes of snaring new customers. There's a huge amount of staff there, including doormen and a staffer for every display. The fancy cholocate room was incredibly tempting, despite the prices, and the staff arrayed in funny old-fashioned aprons and little hats. Many of the chocolates had little edible "Harrod's" ovals on them. I bought a chocolate and walnut brownie for £1, that's about $3AU, but it was one of the cheapest things there and I wanted the ugly little moss-green "Harrod's" bag that they give you. I wandered about the five or so floors and eventually left. Once again, a very expensive place.

I wandered down to Hyde Park and ended up resting beneath a tree a little ways off the walking path. After a few nibbles of the not-so-astoundingly-lovely brownie I was given a wee scare by the unexpected and silent arrival of a squirrel by my knee!! It was gorgeous! The cheeky little beggar waited imperiously for some food and I sucked the chocolate off the walnutes (if chocolate makes a dog sick, it can't be good for him) and gave them to him, one by one, till they were all gone, and my brownie was a mess. He kept darting off and wouldn't let me touch him unless I had a nut in my hand, at which point he still wouldn't let me touch him, but he deigned to nibble at my fingers, so that was delightful. His tiny little hands on my finger, as he snatched a nut or held me still for nibbling, was heart-melting. I got plenty of pics and eventually wised up enough to take a couple of short movie clips of him. It was absolutely enchanting.

Later I wandered about, finally bought a watch (for £5), and just enjoyed myself. But I caught a tube back, big surprise, with tired legs and a happy heart. Later tonight Scott and I are going to do the mushies, so that will be fun. But the highlight of my day so far was definitely that cheeky little squirrel. When I return to London I must remember to buy some nuts and go back to Hyde Park to search for him.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Old-fashioned Harrod's Uniforms for food staffOld-fashioned Harrod's Uniforms for food staff
Old-fashioned Harrod's Uniforms for food staff

Nobody wanted their picture taken - so I took this one on the sly. See the old-fashioned apron + hat? But Quaill's eggs! Yuck!
My Squirrel MateMy Squirrel Mate
My Squirrel Mate

Isn't he adorable?


Tot: 0.524s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.2958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb