"Chick-Shopping" with the Guys


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Richmond
April 9th 2005
Published: April 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

9th April 2005
South-West London, England.

I've made friends with a Kiwi guy, Scott, and a German guy, Ghunter (both hotties), over the past few days and this morning we all decided to head off to the infamous Camden Market together. After some ar*ing around we finally arrived and discovered, with some disappointment, that it was mostly just clothing, studded jewellery, and the all-pervading Magic Mushrooms being sold there. I'd been told a few days beforehand before by my Aussie mate Nicola that in Australia these kind of mushrooms are illegal (never occured to me to ask), and the fact that it's legal here in the UK is a big 'whoo-hoo!' for travellers. She recommended that I try it, and though my initial reaction was not favourable it sort of grew on me.

Yes, you heard it here. I, Miss Prim, went to Camden Market and bought Magic Mushrooms.

I'm actually pretty excited about doing it. Nicola has assured me that as it's all natural, if you freak out you just have to eat a banana or something with natural sugar and it'll bring you out of it. And they cost £10, which is almost $30AU!!! Ouch! But I don't want to do it myself, and Nicola, who would have done it with me, had to leave. So now I'm trying to talk Kiwi Scott into doing it with me, but so far no luck.

Back to the story. We walked Camden Markets for a while and then ambled off towards Big Ben and the river Thames and a few other tourist traps. Took some photos in Trafalgar Square - the guys in front of the larger fountain and me on one of the brass lions. A Scottish-dominated marching band came and marched about while we were there, protestig against re-electing Blair (I think) because he#s planning on dismantling some of their regiments, or some such thing. The music was lovely but they took too long to organise themselves for the main speeches, so we took off. But all in all, it was a lovely day, and fun hanging out with the guys.

Must run, I hear Scott and think I might offer to make a pizza.....with extra mushrooms...












Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb