First Days in Richmond, UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Richmond
August 31st 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bust of George WashingtonBust of George WashingtonBust of George Washington

A gift from GWU a few years back to Richmond
Just arrived yesterday, 29th August to Richmond University here in Greater London. First blog since being here and I want to keep people posted with what I'm up to over here.

Flight from Boston to London Heathrow Airport was a little over 6 hours - not too bad. After getting my baggage and checking thru customs and immigration, I caught the Tube to take to Richmond. I have to laugh, I'm pretty savvy when it comes to subways but this was like a scavenger hunt for me! From Heathrow, I took the Tube to Actons Square where I had to pick up the District Line. This line is less frequent at this stop so I had to wait a while. Once it arrived, I took it to Turnham Green, where you have to pick up another train which will take you into Richmond. Unknowingly, I caught the train - on the right platform - but which traveled back to Actons Square. Had to get off again there, wait for the District Line back to Turnham Green and finally got on the right train.

Little did I know that the campus is about 3-4 miles from the station but, nonetheless, it was a nice walk thru Richmond Center where I got my first taste of the area and where things are located. There's many pubs, designer stores, many miscellaneous shops, cafes, churches, and alleyways. The streets thru here are very narrow and of course traffic is on the opposite side of the road so you have to be extra alert when crossing the street.

The campus itself is very nice and historic. It's a small quaint campus but is very well-kept. They offered everyone a complimentary dinner at the Marquee dining tent. All American food so nothing out of the ordinary yet. Met some people from all over the world.

Today, the 30th, has been pretty uneventful as I was exempt from taking placement tests. After breakfast, I went into town again and walked along the boardwalk parallel to the Thames River. Lot of nice buildings and bridges. Overcast today and high 60s so it's very comfortable. After walking up to the Tube Station, I went to O'Neills Irish Pub for a Bailey's Irish coffee. Also ordered 'grilled prawns' not knowing what they were. I asked the waitress, who I don't think understood what I was asking but
Main BuildingMain BuildingMain Building

The Main Building has many academic and administrative offices as well as student rooms. My room is located here
said they were skewers. Ended up being shrimp - I hate shrimp, never cared for it. But I ate it anyways - wasn't that bad, but surely wouldn't get it again. Live and learn, lol.

Other than that, it's nice to finally be here and I will being doing a lot more sight seeing. Thanks for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Queens RoadQueens Road
Queens Road

Street where Richmond Uni. is located


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb