Day 10 - Siteseeing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 26th 2011
Published: September 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Buckingham PalaceBuckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace

Another part of it
Alright, I guess I should play catch-up for the last few days. I'd like to update every day, but by the time we get back to the hotel, I'm usually exhausted and ready for bed.

We travelled by Virgin Train to London on Friday. I had heard Virgin trains were fantastic, but unfortunately I wasn't overly impressed. I don't really have a complaint, it was fine, but I was under the impression there was free wi-fi which there wasn't. My Kindle wasn't cooperating (a dead battery as it turned out), so I would have liked wi-fi to keep myself occupied. Unfortunately, the wifi wasn't available at all, even paid.

After our arrival, we walked over to Buckingham Palace and around some of it. It's a lot bigger then I had imagined. We saw the Wellington monument as well. We then went over to Camden Market, but I started to feel ill so we headed back to the hotel. It was okay though as there was nothing that we were interested around the Market.

Saturday, we toured around the city on the hop-on/off bus. That took 3-4 hours due to traffic and the distance. I shopped for a new
TeaTeaTea

yummy Jasmine Tea (there had to easily be 50 teas to choose from)
pair of shoes, because my runners were dirty and smelly due to boggy fields on Skye. I got lovely boots but no walking shoes. =( We stopped at St. Paul's and had a look inside the doors but opted to wait until Monday to see it with our city pass. We also went to Harrod's and wandered around there a bit.

Sunday, we walked over to Westminister Abbey and took pictures of the outside. We then spend half the day at the Tower of London which was great to see. The Crown Jewels were amazing. I couldn't take pictures of it, so I've got nothing to show for it. In the afternoon, we met up with my mom's cousin's daughter (my first cousin once-removed or something?) and then went for a walk.

As for today, we went to St. Paul's Cathedral in the morning, then had Afternoon Tea (aka "High Tea") at the Dorchester. Afterwards we went to Westminister Abbey (neither of the Churches were open to visitors yesterday, you could only go if you were attending church services) and then on to the National Portrait Gallery and the National Gallery. Westminister Abbey is absolutely amazing inside, and
Jam & CreamJam & CreamJam & Cream

Two types of jam and clotted cream for the scones.
very impressive. Unfortunately, once again there was no picture taking allowed inside. Today was the first time it rained since we've been here, and not until we were done with all of our touristy stuff. It's been beautiful here, sunny but not too hot. Quite the change from windy, rainy Scotland.
Tomorrow, we tour the village of Cotswold and that will be it for England.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Paul's CrossPaul's Cross
Paul's Cross

outside of St. Paul's Cathedral
Mini-sconeMini-scone
Mini-scone

I finally got to have my scone with cream and jam.
DessertDessert
Dessert

The last piece of the yummy dessert
The DorchesterThe Dorchester
The Dorchester

Outside the Dorchester.
Harrod'sHarrod's
Harrod's

Outside the front of Harrod's


28th September 2011
Jam & Cream

That's thick cream!
The cream looks like butter! I'd still eat it though! Everything looks delicious!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb