First Full Day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 13th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I survive my first full day in London before my tour. I am not sure if blogs are meant to be long but, I think this one will be so please bare with me.

I inquired about the comment issue from a colleague who used this blog site before. She informed me that if a person wants to see the comments other people have left you have to go to comments on the side of the blog to read them. This is kind is an annoying feature of the site as usually they go right under the post. So in other words mum-your comment did show just not where one would expect it. Melissa, this also means your two comments are there. While, I am speaking to you Melissa I should answer your question. I think in a sense the hotel is old school or perhaps it is what hotels are like here. I will let you know once I compare it to the hotels on my tour. There is a porter that you give your keys and get them from as well they give you advice and book tours and services for you. One of today's porters gave me an address of his favourite Indian restaurant (the oldest Indian restaurant in London-opened in 1957). There are some odd things about it though. My room doesn't seem to fit with the image of the hotel. It is really small and has one bed as it is a single room. Perhaps, their double rooms are more spacious. I don't really need anything big though. I am use to hostels and this room is a little above a hostel room. There are some things different though than our hotels in Canada (or maybe it is just this hotel-who knows?). For example, my room doesn't have a hand towel or face clothes. I went to inquire about getting a face cloth to use to shower but, all I got was a confused look. The reception lady was from another country-France I believe based on her accent. She just looked at me weirdly when I asked. She didn't know what I meant so I had to explain with words and a motion. The English porter kind of knew what I meant and said they didn't have them but, I could get extra towels. I said never mind as I had no desire to bathe myself with a body towel. I will have to see if other hotels are lacking these items.

Now, onto the photo issue. I won't be posting photos until I return as it will take too long and use to much battery power. They will be on facebook when I get home. If I don't have you on facebook then you can see them in person at some point.

It is now time for today's adventures. First, I must say that I have a new favourite city. I tend to go to new places and make them a favourite. Mum-I bet you are shaking your head in agreement right now! I best get back on track to my adventures of the day. I took the tube to go to a bus stop for this hop on hop off bus tour I had bought a two day pass for. You can get on and off at any of the 35 stops. When I got off of the underground subway I looked and looked everywhere for the bus stop but without luck. After giving up I continued walking in hopes of finding another bus stop. I finally found one and got on the bus. Unfortunately, because of this delay I missed the free walking tour that takes you to the changing of the guards. This means tomorrow I will have to do two walking tours plus a river cruise as well as look at Shakepeare's Globe Theatre and the Tower of London Experience (if I have time as I have to head back for a tour meeting at 6). So on to the sites. I took photos from the bus until it got to Trafalgr Square. I hopped off to see the square and surrounding sites. I snapped many photos of the water fountains, the 2012 Olympic countdown sign, and columns in the square in front of the National Gallery as well as many of the National Gallery. Of course, most of my photos have people in them as it is so crowded with tourists where you turn. I then went into the National Gallery to see some of my favourite Van Gogh, Renoir, and Monet paintings amongst others. Of course, no trip to a gallery would be complete without a trip to the gift shop to buy some souvenirs. Then I went back to the bus stop to catch the next tour bus. I stayed on the bus till St. Paul's Cathedral. I hopped off to see some amazing architecture. It was then time for lunch before heading back to the bus stop. I was wanting to get off at the Westminster Abbey stop so I stayed on the bus for a bit and saw some beautiful sites. The bus went by Big Ben (which isn't really the name of the tower but the name of the clock on the tower according to the guide), the Parliament buildings, London Bridge, and Tower Bridge. The bus didn't announce the name of the stop so I missed the Westminster Abbey stop but, luckily another stop was nearby it. So I stayed on the bus for a few more stops before getting off and walking to the Abbey and the Parliament buildings. When I got there you couldn't go into the church as a service was going on. I then attempted to remember the way back to the tour bus stop without any luck. I gave up and decided to take the underground back to my hotel from a stop nearby instead of taking a bus back to where I had originally started the tour and go on the subway from there. It was easy enough to navigate though I didn't need to make many changes. Thankfully there weren't too many stops as it was jammed pack on the subway.

Tomorrow I will share some interesting things I have noticed as this blog is too long and I need to go get ready for the morning as I have a busy day. I am sorry for the length. I won't edit this one either. Mum-sorry again.

Zoe

Advertisement



13th July 2011

Wow..
Gee you have been so busy already!! I'm super jealous!! I can't wait to read the rest and keep up with ya through here!!
14th July 2011

going well !!!!
Zoe, Glad that you made it to London in one piece. Brings back old memories of our trip to England. Enjoy yourself. Dad
14th July 2011

Spelling!Spelling! Spelling!
It will have to be a cross that I have to "bear". Sounds like you are getting along famously. I'm envious of your trip to the National Gallery! Enjoy yourself. love Mum
14th July 2011

Experience
What I don't understand is how you managed to find your way back through these places all by yourself without freaking out... or did you just not mention freaking out? As I do remember you freaking out once in awhile when there was no map to be found and you thought I was leading you on a wild goose chase. Sounds like you are having a blast so far. And maybe next time don't make the entry so long... If I wanted to read a novel I would have bought one. Glad you are having a good time so far though!! Can't wait to see the photos once they are on facebook.
14th July 2011

Shakespeare's Globe
Wow, a packed full day! It's a good thing you're young! Of all the places in London, the Globe is my number 1 so think of me when you're strolling through. Have a blast!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb