Day 2 in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 14th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

I have survived another day in the city of London. I have been informed by my sister that if she wanted to read a novel she would read a book. I gather that means that I better make this own shorter for her! By the way Nissa, you may have not left your real name but, I could tell it was you!

Today after attempting to find the tour hop on hop off bus walking tour departure for awhile I gave up and explored on my own. I was able to walk to everywhere I wanted from the underway station I came up at. I walked down to London Bridge and snapped some photos of the Thames River along the way. I then strolled along the Thames River walk to the Tower Bridge. Upon arriving at the Tower Bridge I walked along it snapping photos of the beautiful bridge. The London Bridge is not a nice looking bridge but the the Tower Bridge is beautiful. I then walked back toward the London Bridge and explored some nearby streets. I discovered the Borough Market and strolled through the market. If I was here longer I would have bought some yummy food from there. Perhaps some local fruit and bread. I will have to do that next time I visit London. I wandered around the area and found (Shakespeare's) Globe Theatre. After that I walked to the Tower of London-what an amazing site- aWorld Historic Site. I then came back to my hotel on the tube to pack before heading to my tour meeting at 6. At the tour meeting we received general information about the departure plans for tomorrow and the dos and don'ts to bring on the bus food wise. After that we split into two our tour groups (there were two groups meeting this evening). We had to line up to show our passports and Contiki documents to the tour manager. I talked to an Aussie in line who doesn't like to drink or really party as well as not being too outgoing either (from what they said). We talked after and it sounds like I might have a seat partner for the journey or at least for tomorrow. It was a relief to find somebody similar to me.

Here is a random list of things:
1. I love how there is writing on the street pavement telling you which way to look. This helps foreigners like me remember the right way too look.
2. I find it odd that hotels (or at least mine and the one the Aussie is staying in) don't have wash clothes to wash yourself in the shower.
3. I love how organized the tourist areas are with lamp post directions. Nissa, this is why I haven't had problems not knowing the exact way to go.
4. I love how well set up the underground system is-very easy to navigate despite being super crowded.
5, There are a massive amount of tourists! I am so glad I am here now and not next year (2012 Olympics here and all).

There are more thoughts but, I must go as I have an early morning tomorrow. I probably won't blog tomorrow as it will be a long day. Nissa, Jewel, and Melissa (Wakeling) please check your facebook inbox messages over the next few days for a message from me (I may send it tonight or in a few days).

Zoe

Advertisement



15th July 2011

Behave Yourself
I never made an attempt to hide who I was... I am quite obviously the most awesome person you know. Make sure you behave and play nice with the other kids now that you are starting on the actual tour. Trust you to find an Australian and stick with them. What is your first stop tomorrow?
15th July 2011

Sounds like you're having a great time, Zoe! Hope the tour is everything you hope for. Weird about the washcloths though?
17th July 2011

I too would appreciate writing on the pavement telling me which way to look! London sounds like it has been quite the experience! I would love to see the Tower of London, I hope you are taking lots of pictures!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb