Mastering the art of sucking it up


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kilburn
May 6th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited the Tower of London. Unfortunately, although it was wonderful (and quite hot), I was still suffering from occasional overwhelming bouts of homesickness. Nevertheless, I managed to enjoy myself - I went on a guided tour (which was free) and the tour guide was a former soldier who knew everything about the gruesome bits of the Tower's history and was very entertaining.

Then I wandered around for a bit before heading off over Tower Bridge towards London Bridge. Of course, being me, I got lost on the way to London Bridge, but I discovered a wonderful little old part of Southwark that I wouldn't have seen otherwise. The down side is that I now feel like I've inhaled a whole stack of soot and ash - that's the London smog for you.

During my walk along Southbank to London Bridge, I came to a realisation: I really am being a bit of a tosser. This is my life now, and I've got to take it as it comes. If I just accept what I have, rather than whining about what I don't have, things will work out fine. Hell, there are so many more less fortunate people out there than me. What excuse have I got to complain or be upset about anything? Sure, I've just found out that I probably can't stay where I wanted to stay next week, but I'll sort something out. If I just stop stressing, everything will be fine.

Tomorrow I will call Anne, a friend of a friend of my parents, who has kindly offered to accept any mail I might need sent, and hopefully this weekend I'll meet up with Desh, Bec and Hazel. Next week is now still a bit of a mystery, but I'm confident that something will work out.

Hope you're all well.

Much love from London.
xoxo



Advertisement



6th May 2008

pfft
You're being a wanker not a tosser! Way to forget australian slang already retard!!!!! Have they got plays running in the globe at the moment. I really wanted to see one there :(
7th May 2008

Oh hun! Wish I could be there with you! Say howdy to Desh for me, and give him a hug! If you get him drunk enough he becomes all bouncy! Have fun bootiful! E
7th May 2008

They've got King Lear running at the moment. I was thinking about going on Saturday - only costs £5!
7th May 2008

!
you should, stop being stupid, king lear kicks arse and its dirt cheap! They only run stuff there for a few months of the year! You're an idiot! WEEEEEEEEE I figured you weren't getting enough abuse over there so I'd give you an extra special dose.
7th May 2008

*sends hugs and happy thoughts to take away the homesickness... oh, and much chocolate!*
7th May 2008

Han! I didn't even know you were going os... or maybe I did... either way I didn't remember. I'm so green cause I didn't get to do a tour of or see a play at the globe. Please have a pint of John Smith's for me. Did you climb all the way to the top of St Paul's? You should check out a show at the West End too. And travelling on you're own is good for us 'cause it makes for a better blog.
7th May 2008

so, mole face. let me know when you are free to meet up. how long are you over here for? if you need to get away from the london smog, sarf end is pretty and rural-esque. ok, so it's not rural, but it's nice. x
7th May 2008

womanface. I am staying in the city this weekend almost solely to meet up with you. So get your arse to London! Do you feel like paying £5 to see King Lear at Shakespeare's Globe with me? Or just hanging out or something?
7th May 2008

Hey JJ. Yep, climbed all the way to the top of St Paul's, with photographic evidence to prove it. Glad you think travelling by myself is a good idea. I was beginning to think it wasn't, but now I've got friends here it's not looking too bad.
7th May 2008

Also, I'm here on a two year working holiday visa. but that doesn't give you an excuse not to come to London this weekend!

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb