Calories


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
July 6th 2012
Published: July 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was one of the best days I've had in London. To get things going, Stav (my roommate) and I decided it was a good day to do laundry since we don't work on Fridays. This was smart as the dryers do not dry at our residence, so we were forced to hang all of our clothes thoughout the room (these rooms are also closet-sized).

After dealing with the clothes situation we headed over to Knightsbridge where Harrods (the huge department store) is located. I bought a pair of gorgeous heels that look sandal-like at Zara. They are very high (about 3.5 inches) with black, gladiator-like strapes at the front. A bargain buy at $16. Go me!! Since it was raining we also headed over to Harrods to check it out again (there are at least 5 floors). This time we discovered the food section...dangerous. They have just about everything you can think of--a bakery, sandwich shop, fresh fruit and vegetables, chocoalates, tea, coffee, seafood.......we settled on glittered donuts. Yes, GLITTERED. I never eat donuts, so I decided to splurge and try one. After all, it is Harrods and I was hungry. After that we headed over to Caffe Nero, a popular Italian coffee shop, to eat our donuts and enjoy a cup of joe. I felt like a true European--drinking coffee on a rainy Friday afternoon...aaahhhh

After our caffeine jolt we rode on a vintage double decker bus. Yes, they are still running!! We got off the bus and had an hour to kill before afternoon tea. There were more stores, so naturally we went in a few of them. I was tempted to spend more money, but I held off and just admired everything.

Tea was fantastic. I had a delicious orange/cinnamon Twinings flavor and drank two full pots of the deliciousness. With tea we also got finger sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, and some pastries. SO GOOD, but that just added to the calorie intake for the day. Good thing there's so many places to walk here otherwise I would be forced to buy new pants (thankfully that hasn't happened). After tea we had headed over to Hyde Park and caught a glimpse of fans goig to deadmau5 at the Wireless Music Festival. It looked super fun, but I'm not one for crowds. Instead we just admired the beautiful park, flowers, and large pond. It's really nice that London is such a huge, crowded city, but these gorgeous parks lay in the middle of it.

To finish off the day we headed out to Leicester Square. We have these things called tastecards where we get 50% our food bill at certain restaurants. We dined at this place called Ruby Blue, which is a restaurant/bar/club. I enjoyed a falafel burger and a slice of cheesecake (calories, yet again), but it was so worth it. I mean, 50% off!!

Overall, it was a fantastic day. It's so nice to be able to wake up on Fridays and have London at my fingertips. While others are working we are exploring the city and making the most of our summer. I never want to leave.

Keep reading my blog this weekend! I'll be posting about Tate Modern (most likely) and our dinner cruise down the rive Thames. Cannot wait to wear my new shoes and cruise down the river. Thanks for reading!!

~Kayleigh


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb