Camden, Harrods, Piccadilly


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 17th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was perhaps one of the most interesting days I have spent in London. You know the late singer Amy Winehouse? Well, I saw her home. She lived in a very edgy part of town--Camden. It is very well known for its music scene and eclectic atmosphere. Her home is up for sale, but I think it's a bit out of my price range.

After the visit to her home the group headed over to the hipster part of Camden where there is a long road with funky shops and restaurants (Bang Bang Chicken, for example). For lunch I tried a nutella crepe--heavenly and surprisingly cheap. I absolutley love discovering little places like this.

I was also talked into buying a dress...I just had to as Camden is so famous for its market and shopping. There's everything from tattoo shops to baby apparel to inappropriate t-shirts. It was almost too much to take in with all the diversity, but it was great!

To finish off the afternoon I headed over to Harrods and Piccadilly Circus for exploration. Harrods is a famous department store (not your typical JCPenney's or Macy's). We're talking big bucks. It is a never ending store with everything from Burberry to Jimmy Choo to Gucci. I was hoping to spot a celebrity, but sadly I did not. However, it was not a disappointing experience as I stared at the ridiculously expensive clothing and footwear. Even with sales I would not even come close to affording anything. It was really fun to walk around all the different departments and watch people spend $$$$$$. We also hit up a few other stores on the same street as Harrods. So many people and so much stuff! I did not buy anything, but continued to stare at the price tags and fantasize about buying things. Fashion here is out of this world.

On our way home we stopped at Piccadilly Circus (very similar to Times Square) for pictures. It gets incredibly crazy with people, but that gives Piccadilly Circus its charm. Although all the people and craziness tired me out. It's amazing how tired you can get after just walking around for the day. But the weather was beautiful so that was not an issue! It almost hit 70 (fahrenheit...still adjusting to the different scales). This was comforting as the weather really is bi-polar--rain and sun at the same time followed by wind and chilliness.

Back to work tomorrow. Stay tuned for more updates as I explore this INCREDIBLE city!

~Kayleigh

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb