Learning So Much


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 18th 2012
Published: June 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This second week of work has really taught me a lot about becoming an adult--it's difficult. Many times I dread going to school, but this is completely different. This is the application of what we learn in school. Everyday I must get up early, get ready, and transport myself to work for a full day. Now I understand why parents and adults are so keen on finding the right job as it's what they do EVERY day.

Each day at work is long, but I love it. I love conversing with adults and understanding the workplace. Creating and running a business involves a lot of time, money, and the right people. My company is giving me the chance to be a part of this in terms of marketing. How do we appeal to more people? How do we expand our social platforms? How long will it take to get there? This is what I'm doing and I love every minute of it. In school we merely learn what goes on in the business world, but we don't actually get to experience it. Not me! I get to learn about it and experience it primarily through our social networking pages.

Thus far I've also learned how important it is to be assertive. During the first week of work I informed my managers that I had ideas for the social networking pages. Now I am scheduled to sit in on a meeting and actually talk with them more and even explain to them what I ideas I can bring to the table. Now that's just something you cannot get in a classroom...

I also learned something else today--batteries at Tesco are behind the counter and not out on a stand like in the United States. I find this a bit odd.

No other updates today. The rest of the week should be interesting as tomorrow England plays Ukraine in the football, Wednesday I will attempt to do laundry for the first time here, and Thursday I am going on the London Eye! Oh, and also going on the Harry Potter tour and having traditional afternoon tea...now how can you beat that???

~Kayleigh

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb