Spring thaw, yeah right. . .


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
April 6th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Sunday,

Today is a very special day, as the optimism that the past week provided us as far as the turning of spring has been shattered to pieces. The pictures indicate what I wok up to. Snow! not just snow, but snow accumulation. Now for those of you from the midwest you know that this can hardly be considered accumulation, however in London it definitely counts. I had great ambitions today. I was going to wake up, run, go to star bucks to write my paper, and then finally make a nice dinner. The run has been nixed. So I am going to shower and try to get this paper written.

I forgot to mention that Ben Webster made it out on thursday. During the day he went around to see some of the sites and met me and Liverpool street station after work. I showed him my flat and we went to Sports Cafe to take in some wings and some European football. It was great to see him. Its always nice to see people form home over here (hint hint).

Yesterday, the flat mates and I went shopping for a Freeview box, which basically gives us 40 odd channels on the tv, which is a huge improvement over the 5 fuzzy ones we had before. We bought it at a store called Argos. This place has a great concept. You go in and there are laminated catalogue stations. They have absolutely everything you could possibly want. You find whatever it is that you are looking for (like a freeview box) and input the cat. number into a device that tells you if they have it in stock. If they do, you go to a station, type in the number and ay for it. Then you pick it up at a counter and you are on your merry way. We watched the Grand National horse race. Neither of my horses placed (this is unfortunate as I really could have used that 80 pounds from the DB sweepstakes). We also spent most of the day relaxing, and I decided to take a few picture of the sky at dusk from our window. Those are posted here. We then headed to any other flat to imbibe. Everyone headed to a club (save for me as I hate clubs). So I spent the rest of the night watching TV
Max's Room!Max's Room!Max's Room!

. . . ie the common room
and went to bed for some needed rest.

I should be off now to write my paper, so keep the comments coming. I'd Love to hear from you all!

Cheers,

Aaron



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View from the Common Room. . .View from the Common Room. . .
View from the Common Room. . .

Thought it was worth capturing the way the sky looked
The OceanThe Ocean
The Ocean

Or the sky again?


7th April 2008

Hey
Fun reading what Bestic is up to day to day. Although I'm a little disappointed in starbucks... you're in a cool country...find a coffee place, not startbucks man.
9th April 2008

That sky is beautiful! I am so jealous!
15th April 2008

hiya
hey aaron love the pictures- its great to be able to keep updated on your stay over there :) miss you! xoxo -m
29th April 2008

I miss you :( the idea of me visiting during Thanksgiving is sinking fast .. and its horrible! I want to come so bad! I even had a dream about it! I'm glad to see you are enjoying your trip. Even though I'm sitting here trying to go through college stuff, take my ACT for the third, and hopefully final time, and you are no where to be found!! And im missing you dearly. I love you!!!

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb