Last Night


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Heathrow Airport
January 10th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The beginning of the journeyThe beginning of the journeyThe beginning of the journey

The 2 crocs are: the big one is crocy who I have had since I was 3 and travels everywhere with me. The little one from Peter Pan is called cwock as in clock as in tick tock the noise he makes in the film. Anyway Cwock will pop up from time to time. Crocy will stay in my room safely locked away from any danger.
Well this is it, I have been left at Heathrow airport at The Premier Inn. Which by the way is a nice hotel. Tomorrow I should be on my way to Frankfurt! Well, I should be, if the snow doesn't disrupt anything. I managed to get everything done that I needed to, but it was a little frantic at times. I was meant to be coming back up to London from Devon on Wednesday but the snow got in the way of those plans. So I stayed in Devon and came back up on the Friday with the family in the car. That is a story in itself, but it is no longer important. Well, the main repercussion from this was that my vaccination book was now up in London where I wasn't, and I wasn't meant to be going back to the London House. So as you could imagine I was a little worried that it would a) not turn up there until after I had left for Germany or b) it would be mailed back to my home and wouldn't get there until after I had left or c) it would get lost in the snow. But this side
The LuggageThe LuggageThe Luggage

This is the luggage I have brought! It's a lot but I need to get it down to one piece.
story has a happy ending and I ended up there so managed to pick it up. Phew.

My last goodbyes were sad but I believe I have left on good terms with them so will hopefully be able to go back and visit the children.

Saturday was busy with last min stops in Bromley to pick up a few things and get the 101 passport photos that I seem to need - cost me an absoulte fortune, 5 pounds (yes I know I could put the pound sign in but I'm typing this in Germany and they don't have it on their keyboards! Plus half the letters are in the wrong place, esp the y and z they have been switched! You don't realise how often you use the y key until it is in the wrong place) for 6 photos!!!! The nerve of it all. I also had to pop up to London to get my last round of Rabies done. Well, what a trip that turned out to be. I was meant to have had in my 1st round typhoid, diptheria, polio and tetanas as one jab, my 1st lot of Jap B, 1st lot of Rabies and a joint one of Hepatitus A and B. BUT turns out that I never had hep B, I had a combo of Hep A with Typhoid. UGH! That is not what I asked for and that is not what the dr said she was giving me when she stabbed me in the arm with the needle. I was asked if I wanted to have it, but said no as it is a course of injections and I had run out of time. Lets pray I dont need any blood while away. So after parting with my money for the last time I headed home to finish or the idey bity jobs like writing letters, coping phone numbers and addresses. The last part of my saturday was very enjoyable up in London with my cousin's girlfriend and my folks at the Coliseum to see the Snow Queen (which is quite apt given the weather).

Sunday was remarkably calm 😊, I packed up my 2nd case only to discover that I could only take one checked piece with me 😞 whoops never mind. Then had a bit of a wait, while waiting to hear from my new boss about whether she had moved my flight. I was a little nervous, what with all the snow, that my plane may be cancelled, esp since on Saturday the BBC reported that Frankfurt was closed. But no, I was to take my chance. So at 7ish I said goodbye to my home and headed up to Heathrow to be left there for the night.

I always hate goodbyes, and when asked if I was excited the answer was no, I couldn't possibly be excited while I had the horrid prospect of saying goodbye to one person who means more to me than anything else (that's my mum in case you hadn't twigged). Once she had gone, then I could get excited - so excited in fact that the night played out like the old Walt Disney World advert when the children can't sleep because they are too excited as mum says its magical. Then when the mum asks the dad if he is asleep he says no he is too excited . So basically I kept waking up every 2 hrs to see if it was time to get up. Saying that, when it was time for me to get up I flattly refused to 😱 .

Advertisement



11th January 2010

Good luck Anita, I'll be thinkin of u! Come back safe and sound. xxx
12th January 2010

Never smile at a crocodile
The crocs are too cute! Be safe and have fun :)
14th January 2010

Safe travels
Have a wonderful trip Anita. I know it is work but enjoy this experience!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb