Final Countdown


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Exeter
January 4th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I am into the final countdown! It is all rather exciting, but at the same time very scary. Obviously I am going to miss my family and friends but what is scary is going out into the unknown - starting a new job is always the same, but here I have no idea where I will be going half the time or what I will be doing, and that’s what is scary - not being in control. Looking at it from a different view though - what an adventure it will be, waking up each day not knowing what to expect and just going with the flow.
I am almost packed. That is the hardest part. Knowing what to take, and how much. My new boss has said that it is fine for me to take two suitcases out to Germany so that I can then repack and get it down into one suitcase. Which I am hoping is BIG and at the 30kg limit rather than the 23kg for cattle class. I have been really good and haven’t bought any new clothes except for a few linen/cotton shirts that I can use in countries where I have to stay covered up. I am not a light packer, and this not knowing where I will be or what I will be doing is rather irritating when it comes to knowing what to pack. My best friend came round the other day and was really impressed with what I have decided to take. It does (amazingly) fit into one suitcase at 23kg, but that doesn’t leave me any room for buying anything while I am away.
I spent most of Saturday doing last minute things and getting last minute bits and bobs. It’s amazing just what sort of things need to be sorted out. I had to phone up my bank and tell them I had “lost” my card, so that they could issue me with a new one that had a different expiry date, as mine would have run out in march. Which is obviously no good to me as I will probably be in the Australian outback and wont be able to get my new card. The bank actually told me to do that. So if anyone is ever going on a really long trip make sure your cards are valid for the entire trip! I also had to make sure that all my prescription would last for next 8 months, which required a trip to my GP. So you see there are so many things to think about.
I now have my last round of jabs to look forward to - shit, just realised that I have in fact forgotten to bring my vaccination book with me - woops. Hmmm hopefully magic mummy can send it to me in time so that I can get it signed and stamped. It is rather 1930ish, its a yellow vaccination book that I have to carry with me to say that I have had my yellow fever injection. Plus it is a pretty handy way to remember which ones you have had and when you next need them. Anyway, I think I only have one more Rabies, possibly one more Japanese Encephalitis and Meningitis as well. I also have to choose which anti-malarial tablets to take. This is something that has confused me a bit. I wrote to my new boss and asked what would I need, and she replied that the advice that they had been given by the department of tropical diseases is that they don’t recommend taking strong prophylactics while you are there, and instead you should only take them IF you start to exhibit any of the symptoms! That seems a little too late to start taking preventative measures. The nurse (I swear everyone who works at the Medi Centre in Victoria station is from South Africa) I saw the other day for my last round of injections said that was very bad advice and that I should consider taking deoxycycline. Hmmm, not so sure I want to take that. Last time I took it for lymes disease it made me incredible photosensitive and I ended up with 2nd degree burns from just being outside. Granted it was just one strip on both my arms and half of two of my fingers (very odd), but I don’t want to repeat that experience, as it meant I had to stay out of the sun while in Florida. Which is fine if you are travelling alone, but not if you are working and have no choice about being outside. So I can’t really take them, plus Malarone is out as you can only take it for 28 days. There is another one which they didn’t recommend and then the final one is Chloroquine which is not recommended in Africa. Looks like I may be going with the lets not take any and hope for the best approach. If only we did anti-malarial vaccinations like other countries do.


Advertisement



9th January 2010

SO excited
I'm SO excited for you, Anita. I just may squeal....

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb