Boxing Day at the Bridge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Chelsea
December 26th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I don't just get up for anyone after only four hours sleep, so lucky I had Frank Lampard to coerce me out of bed on Boxing Day morning. That and the fact that it was the best weather we'd had in a long time - perfect for watching football.

Hair of the dog and all, the first thing Joel did was to get back on the leftover champagne. Actually I lie. The first thing Joel did was call me about five times to see where I was when he woke up and I wasn’t in bed. (I was taking a shower.) Think he was on the turps from Xmas Eve till work four days later!

So while the two Joel's got 'organised' I cleaned up the remnants of Xmas Day. Thank god we have a dishwasher as I was able to do a lot throughout the day as we finished up each course. The biggest problem was finding enough fridge space with five kilos of sirloin left, a turkey carcass and millions of other leftovers!

Joel C's girlfriend from Bermuda joined us for the game, which we were very lucky to get tickets to. It was ideal that Chelsea were playing West Brom at home during the time that they were in London. It was also exciting that I could wear my new gear that Ryan and Todd had kitted me out with for Xmas!

We had brilliant seats "in the middle of the shed" right above the goal post. We are normally up in the heavens, so it was awesome seeing all their facial expressions and being so close to the action.

Drogs put away the first Chelsea goal, and then two minutes before half-time, Lamps put the nail in the coffin. We celebrated the win afterward with a pub lunch in Fulham. I can't wait to get in touch with the old flatties, who are die-hard Albion fans, to rub the result in!...I made darn sure that we didn't have a 'West Brom angel' on our Xmas tree this year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sell outSell out
Sell out

Attendance 41,500
ChelseaChelsea
Chelsea

"My Pride of London"
Chelsea benchChelsea bench
Chelsea bench

Scolari, Deco, and Terry - what were you thinking!


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb